We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not modern, but OK and very friendly management”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not modern, but OK and very friendly management”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The motel is in the center of the Picton village. Very close to the harbour where the interislander ferry lands.
The rooms are not very big and also not very modern, but the management is very friendly and helpful.
They provide much help and information about the area, town and restauants.
The wireless network they have from Zenbu does not work in the rooms at the street side, but fortunately Telecom NZ does also provide free wifi in Picton.
The pricemfor the room is reasonable, but the value for money is just OK.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ger van H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    189
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
231
386
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a night here, arriving about 9:45pm after our ferry crossing. The great service started when I first booked online, with a telephone call to say that the room we had booked did not have the necessary number of beds for our family. We were a bit pressed to find a room in picton at this busy time of year with enough beds for all of us. There was an extra single bed in our room waiting for us when we arrived. We were checked in so quickly that we were probably in our room getting ready for bed before the last cars were off the ferry. Very friendly & helpful service. Great location right in the middle of town. It was easy to find from the ferry terminal. We found our unit was very clean. We are sorry we only had one night to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After traveling around the South Island we were suprised at how clean, fresh and large the rooms were for the price! It was nice to have room to spread out instead of falling all over each other. Centeral to shopping and within walking distance to the ferry made the necissities easy and the staff were so lovely, friendly and helpfull. We loved staying there and would recomend the Gateway to anybody. Well done Kent, Marie and the Gateway Team, we hope to see you again some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonCarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I could not be happier about my stay at this Motel. I was part of a group of 18 that used this motel before and after walking the Queen Charlotte Track. Even though we arrived on the evening Interislander from Wellington a phone call to the motel allowed us to be picked up after a wait of only a few minutes. A shuttle service then took us and our baggage to the motel. We were able to leave some bags we did not need at the motel to be picked up on our return after our walk. The rooms were excellent and the staff were able to recommend very good eating places within easy reach of the motel which is in the main street of Picton. The couple running the motel are very friendly and they went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. On our last night our group had dinner at the Thai Restaurant in Picton (which is also excellent by the way. On our way back to the motel we were caught in a thunder storm. The motel sent the motel transport to pick up one of our group who had a broken ankle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This motel has had so many good reviews it seems hardly necessary to add our two bob's worth. So we'll keep it short.
We stayed overnight twice, before and after walking the Queen Charlotte Track. If we return to Picton we will stay there again.
The room was spotless, the check-in service perfect, the location on High Street within a minute or two walk of several good cafes and bars and the waterfront. Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The owners of this motel could not have been more helpful. They offered us lifts around town and made arrangements for our hire car whilst we were away for 4 nights walking the Queen Charlotte Track. Great location, lovely town, worth staying a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynysdewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived in PIcton at sunset after an absolutely stunning ferry journey from Wellington. The motel is a 5 min walk from the terminal. It's simple and friendly and provided a lovely welcome to our holiday on the South Island. There's an Irish pub about 5 mins walk away which has live music in the evenings and we happened on a particularly good band. There is also a brilliant cafe opposite the motel where you can get an excellent breakfast. We'd thought that Picton would be a rather charmless ferry terminal - how wrong we were! It's a gorgeous little place, with an attractive marina (you can see the rays swimming between the boats at night), wonderful hills, and a most interesting little museum housing the Edwin Fox, the oldest merchant ship in the world. Later in our trip, we spent a couple of nights in Blenheim using it as a base to visit some of the vineyards but if we were doing this again I'd book 2 nights in Picton and visit the vineyards from there instead.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Picton Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing