We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shona / Heather”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Shona / Heather”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Only stayed one night and found location perfect for all amenities. Extremely comfortable beds and top rate cleanliness,eg: shower door so clean that we thought there was no curtain and tried to walk into it!! In addition to this the owners were so friendly and helpful and damn it,they were both such good looking people!!!

Room Tip: take advice from the owners when booking and discuss your personel preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    189
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
231
388
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived on a late ferry from Wellington and were greeted by a prompt pickup. A chat with some good local knowledge was all we needed. Well appointed room for the price and location. Ours had two singles and a double which worked fine for the two of us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you would like a clean, convenient, comfortable motel room with internet that actually works - this is the place. Best of all are the owners Chris and Kerri Sullivan. Super nice people who put in a lot of hard work to make this motel as nice as it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Honestly, I am very hard to please when it comes to rating Motels, but I had to write one for the Gateway Motel, Picton. After a long day travel, we were welcomed in like a long lost relative and made to feel like we never left. The owners went out of their way to please and make it an enjoyable stay. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean, and might I add the cost was very good, excellent is fact. If ever you are down the south Island New Zealand do yourself a favour and stay there, you wont be dissappointed. I mean it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainhughie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very tidy and clean right on the main street of Picton and close to the marinas and the ferry terminals and very helpful, chatty and friendly staff it was raining when I arrived and I was soaked they offered me a spare umbrella so I could still go out and about and not have to worry about the rain. I found it to be very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I would like to thank the owners and staff of The Gateway Hotels in Picton. Fantastic group of people with wonderful senses of humour. They went out of their way to try to help me find my teeth and hearing aid after a rather messy night out in Picton, I can't sing their praise enough. Very down to earth and welcoming. The accomodation is extremely comfortable and affrordable and I will certainly be coming back for another stay...as they havent banned me...lol bonus. thank you again guys...~hugs~...your new toothless buddie.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chryssie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We checked in late on Sunday night and restaurants in town are closed. Much to our surprise the owner fixed us a meal with local seafood - for free! The room is clean, close to shops/restaurants in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing