We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stop for ferry travellers”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I organiseded for my daughter to stay here and found owners very helpful over the phone with my queries answered in friendly informative manner. She found the unit very clean and comfortable and so central. She also found the owners friendly and is keen to stay there again next time she is using ferry. I definitely recommend this motel as living up to all the tripadvisor reviews and great place to use as either base or stop over depending on where you are heading to.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed one night on our way home from our North Island holiday, service was brilliant, both when I initially emailed to ask about the best room option for my husband, myself and our three young children including a 3 mth old baby, I received a response promptly with two options. Booking was very easy. Service on arrival was great, even offering to help carry our bags to the room. Would recommend Gateway motel Picton to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in picton after catching the ferry from Wellington. We arrived at 9pm and then left the following morning. We did not realise what a gorgeous town picton was and really wish we stayed longer! We were so happy to arrive at the gateway hotel! We were in a room that has been completely updated with a new beautiful bathroom, kitchen facilities and new furniture! The owners had made sure the heater was turned on before we arrived so our room was warm and cosy after a busy day! The owners were so friendly and made us feel very welcome! Next time we visit we will stay longer and catch a day ferry so we can see appreciate the sights coming into picton.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, the room was large and very clean, the owners were very friendly and easy to talk to, lovely guy was Daryl. We will be staying here any time we go to picton, on the main street every thing is easy to get to. A stones throw from anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I found everything very clean, tidy, and comfortable and we were made most welcome during our 3 night stay recently.
This accomodation is very central to all amenities and we will stay there again and recommend it to others.
P.S. I first stayed there in 1974 and enjoyed it then too.

Room Tip: If you are challenged by having to climb stairs request a downstairs unit just as i did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

my husband and l and another couple stayed here for four nights. The location was excellent as it is right in the middle of the town. All the eating places, supermarket, shops are right there, you don't need to use the car alot. The place is really clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfortable. would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the town they get the afternoon sun and have large decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying here. The location could not be more convenient and everything met my expectation. The hotel is close to the docks, the supermarket and many shops and restaurants. Free and fast wireless Internet was very useful too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkblue_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
256 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $63 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing