We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We found this motel by chance, right by the harbor. The location was great and the price reasonable. The owner was hospitable and generous, gave us great tips and discounts for the different activities in the area. Our room was clean, comfortable, everything was completely new. We stayed here with a baby and a cot was provided for us. Outside the room there was a nice picnic area.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    187
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
230
382
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England, North Dakota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed to help my daughter and her husband with babysitting duties. We did think the one room we were in would be a problem. We managed though and the room was cleaned every day so clutter was not a problem. There was plenty of hot water too.The staff were all very pleasant and eager to help.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

what fab host's chris and kerri !!!!!!!!!!!!!! we would advise anyone to stay here !!!!!!!!!!! as a young family with a 3yr old and 16 mth old . it was perfect. the best part about the place is that it is very central , and very clean and tidy. thanks again we are looking forward to going back in june and christmas . kylie aaron

Room Tip: all rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhonert pk ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

A great place to stay in Picton. The rooms were spotless and the host and hostess( owners) were so accommodating. The rooms have been recently updated and are very comfortable. I would recommend a stay here to anyone who enjoys being in the center of town where coffee, dining and shopping are just outside the door. Nancy and Steve, Northern California

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redomestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu Beach, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

What a great place to stay. I can honestly say that I have never stayed in a more clean motel anywhere in the world. This was our first holiday since the arrival of our son and as a first family trip away this motel ticked all the boxes. The rooms are spacious and have been fantastically refurbished. You would think that being right on the high street it could be noisy but it wasn't, the double glazing kept the noise out and the warmth in. Chris and Kerri were so welcoming and could not have been more hlepful in ensuring that we had everything we needed for the baby. If we were to go to Picton again, we would without a doubt stay here. Thank you Chris and Kerri for making our first fmaily holiday so great.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been refurished so whichever one you end up in you would be very happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have just visited Picton and been to the Gateway Motel where we encountered the loveliest couple, Kerri and Chris. They were very obliging hosts and we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back for more visits in the near future.

Room Tip: Considering the central location to town the rooms are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights waiting for the ferry. The motel is under new management and they are very nice folks and are trying hard. It did the job for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Striven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Canterbury, Picton 8062, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicated to providing informative and unbiased online Accommodation, Transportation and Travel & Tourism information. Established in 1995 by Danny de Hek, our extensive network provides comprehensive travel guides for popular destinations and top resources for activities and ‘all things New Zealand’ Our approach is not to compete with other New Zealand sites but rather to be a gateway for visitors to a diverse wealth of information presented in a concise manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing