We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding-Owners are the Greatest”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding-Owners are the Greatest”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Under new ownership, Chris & Kerri Sullivan, who couldn't do enough to make your stay a most enjoyable one. The room was spotlessly clean & comfortable. During our four week of travel in AU & NZ, Chris's eagerness to offer his assistance with our travel delemnas were unparall to any of the other dozen places we stayed. Chris's goal is to be the #1 ranked motel in Picton...he has our vote. .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    189
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
231
390
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay and excellent value for money. All newly refurbished, very clean ,obviously at this price it is basic but I am fussy and I thought it was ideal and great ! The owners are so very friendly and really want you to enjoy your stay, they cant do enough for you. I would thoroughly recommend that anyone stay here. The location is great, if you like people watching choose a room at the front which has a large shared BUT private balcony overlooking the quiet high street. We walked to the property with our luggage from the ferry terminal and also walked on return to the train station even though the owners offered us a lift - how kind !! cafes and shops all on the doorstep, take the coastal walk that Chris recommends it is beautiful. This couple deserve to be busy !! ( in a nice way - of course !! )

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. Great location. Lovely boutique shopping just out the front gate.
Plenty of cafe's to enjoy, great coffee close by.
What brilliant host's - Chris and Kerri could not do enough for us and what they have done in a few short months is a credit to them both. We would advise anyone to stay and have a great break in Picton. Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: first floor balcony rooms are especially great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful experience at the Gateway Motel. We were thrilled when checking in we were upgraded to a larger apartment with no extra cost. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and clean and was an obvious source of pride for the new owners Chris and Kerri. The motel itself is right in the centre of the high street surrounded by good restaurants and shops. We have stayed at lots of places from 2 star to 5 star and we can honestly say we haven't received the care and consideration that we received from Chris and Kerri. They even fed us cake and tea while we were waiting for Chris to drive us to the ferry terminal.
We wouldn't hestitate to recommend this Motel and we will certainly return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very close to the ferry, restaurants, shops. Good courtyard with noon day sun. Bathrooms newly refurbished, new furniture, friendly hosts who are very keen to make everyone welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent two nights at the Gateway Motel in Picton and we could not wish for hosts who knew
The area any better. Chris and Kerri have been running the motel a few months, and the pride
of new ownership is so obvious. Their refurbishment gives a modern edge. The Gateway
caters for couples, families, or any one passing through. When we arrived we were wanting
to do a trip. Their recommendation was spot on, when they booked us for a fantastic
Postal cruise, which is unique in this part of the world. The cruise took us to some of the most
beautiful scenery. Only wished we had time to stay longer. A big thank you to Chris and Kerri who certainly know their customer service skills, which were spot on.Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for the downstair rooms, as they catch a lot of sun. They are situated in a inner style courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiriat Ono, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Staying at the Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation was definitely one of the highlights of our recent visit to the top of the South Island. The room had been newly renovated and decorated in a beautiful colour scheme, making it very inviting and pleasant to be in, and had a brand-new bathroom and full kitchen. Chris and Kerri went out of their way to make our stay a great one; we had only to express a wish, and a few minutes later it was granted. They were also extremely helpful with advice about things to do and where to eat, and their suggestions were spot-on. We warmly recommend the Gateway Motel to anyone visiting Picton and the Malrborough area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efrat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#3 of 16 in Picton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing