We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly service, excellent accommodation, beautiful room”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Kiriat Ono, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly service, excellent accommodation, beautiful room”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Staying at the Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation was definitely one of the highlights of our recent visit to the top of the South Island. The room had been newly renovated and decorated in a beautiful colour scheme, making it very inviting and pleasant to be in, and had a brand-new bathroom and full kitchen. Chris and Kerri went out of their way to make our stay a great one; we had only to express a wish, and a few minutes later it was granted. They were also extremely helpful with advice about things to do and where to eat, and their suggestions were spot-on. We warmly recommend the Gateway Motel to anyone visiting Picton and the Malrborough area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efrat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    189
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
231
386
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Gateway Motel during our recent visit to Picton and were very impressed with the service. Especially since the new owners had only been running the place for a few months. When we got there we were eager to find a place to watch our favorite team play Basketball. We knew it wouldn't be easy in New Zealand to get college basketball from the USA, but the manager immediately found a way to get ESPN onto our TV in our room. Then, the next day, our ferry got cancelled, rescheduled, and delayed again. They made sure to let us know that they would find some way to accommodate us if we got held up in Picton another night, even if it meant finding us a room elsewhere. They were friendly, the rooms were clean, and the prices were right. I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in Picton!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful introduction to the South Island! New owners Chris and Kerri have put a lot of TLC into renovating and refurbishing this motel, where we spent two nights. They went out of their way to ensure that our stay was the best it could be, cheerfully fulfilling all of our requests. They took extra time to recommend tours, eateries and even scenic routes for us to drive! At the end of only two days we felt like we had met new friends! I would recommend the Gateway Motel to everyone who is traveling through Picton.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Chris and Kerri were professional and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms have been upgraded and are clean and welcoming. In the short time that they have been there the improvements are wonderful. this motel caters for couples families,or any travellers to the area. We are looking forward to our next visit to Picton.

Room Tip: we had achoice of rooms and would have been very happy in any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Three of us stayed one night at the Gateway prior to picking up a campervan. We had a very clean and well appointed studio apartment that served our requirements and at a competitive price. Service was friendly, helpful and unobtrusive - all one would wish for an introduction to South Island. The location, on the main street near shops and restaurants, is ideal for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Under new ownership and newly refurbished, its a great place to stay. The owners are friendly and helpful and obviously very proud of their property. I'll certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Thank you for making our overnight stop in Picton so good. We arrived very late and tired on the ferry and were contacted while still on board and assured that we would be met. We were helped with parking our trailers and given a cheery welcome. The units had been given an upgrade and the furnishings were very tasteful. We have stayed in many places and this stands out due to the warm hospitality and genuine lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Picton Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing