We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, friendly folk”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

At the end of February my wife and I were delayed in Picton for 2 days due to ferry cancellation. Everywhere was full but Chris and Kerri at Gateway made great efforts and made accommodation available for us at short notice. They reduced their price rather than taking advantage and gave us lots of helpful advice about the ongoing journey; nothing was to much trouble. The place was clean, modern, very well furnished and equipped so very comfortable and central.
We highly recommend them and will only stay there if we return to Picton
Peter & Linda Birtles. Sheffield UK

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteLinYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

Thanks Chris & Kerry for helping us out so late at night. Booked our room at 9pm from Kaikoura and didn't arrive until 11pm. Chris and Kerry were there to meet us and help us to our room. This Motel is spotless and I would highly recomend. It is in a perfect place in the middle of Picton and handy to everything. We will definately be staying here whenever we are in Picton. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellfamilyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Chris and Kerry made us so welcome on what was the worst weather we had encountered throughout the whole of our 3 months in New Zealand. The motel is centrally located in Picton and is the perfect place to stay if going for a trip around Queen Charlotte Sound.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Kerri & Chris came to our rescue after having spent a dreadful night in another motel in Picton.
They were wonderful and the room was great, especially the shower Chris!!!
This motel has it all - location/friendly staff/helpful advice and a ride to the Ferry terminal thrown in early in the morning. This motel is in the centre of town, but do not be fooled it is very quiet and restful. We will be back.

Room Tip: They appear to all be nice but maybe you could ask for one with a view I do not know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Three of us stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that had just recently been refurbished. It was very clean and comfortable. Our hosts were very frinedly and they allowed us to leave our car in their carpark whilst we went on a walk in The Sounds. Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plastickiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

what wonderful hosts Kerri and Chris are-we stayed one night and had to stay
there again, We met as strangers and left as friends
Thanks G and J
March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The motel is in a good location, and the rooms are newly refurbished and clean. The owners were really helpful in helping us make the bookings for our dolphin swim and wine tasting tours, and gave us a lift to the train station. We had a really enjoyable stay here thanks to the wonderful hospitality we received. I will highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeohT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
265 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $94 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing