We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceworthy stay in Picton”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Coming in to a Picton after 5 days on Q Charlotte's track we found a nice and clean(newly renovated) stay very central in Picton. Room pretty small, bathroom quit new and clean, beds nice. Even if at high street in Picton there was no disturbances. When we asked for a shuttle to the ferry station the manager offered to take us there for free. Also nice advices for our trip to North Island.

Room Tip: At garden no noice at all from streets/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

excellent location. in the heart of town but quiet. Chris is a great host and nothing is too hard for him. Couldn't fault the cleanleness, comfy bed and nice and quiet to boot.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the town are good for enjoying a wine,watch the world go by and admire the great h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked literally last minute over the net and choose this motel being the closest to the ferry as our rental car had been returned and we had a few bags with us. We got the last room which had been partially renovated and found it very clean and the bed very comfy. The majority of the motel rooms have now undergone renovation, look fantastic and represent excellent value for money. The owners are great, friendly and so helpful. They even took us down to the ferry, how good is that! There is a great garden area where guests can get together if they wish to have a barbie. Would definately recommend staying here and we will again! Must remember to book it in advance though!!! Thanks guys for making our brief stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Totally awesome accommodation run by hosts that went the extra mile - well over and above the call of duty.
Attractive, safe, clean and comfortable. Not to mention relaxing! Right on main street, just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach.
My only regret was that I was unable to stay an extra night due to prior travel bookings. Good news is, I will just have to go back!!!
Many thanks to Chris and Kerri!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieAlice64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We can not say enough great things about the hosts Chris & Carrie. They definitely go above & beyond what any other hotel host has done for us.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertaJack007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The owner picked us up from the ferry and was very friendly. He let us park our pram in the office since our room was upstairs. The cot was made up and ready to go when we arrived, the room was in excellent shape and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, Sky Sports and Movies were available. Chris made it known we were welcome to use the BBQ whenever we wanted. He was also willing to run us around in the van if required and also willing to lend us a car.

The price was more than affordable, the location was amazing (right in the heart of the town, everything you need literally less than 1 minute walk) and the condition of the motel was immaculate.

I highly recommend a stay at the Gateway Motel to anyone travelling through Picton.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 14, very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just landed back from a fantastic trip to New Zealand. Of all the places we stayed, this ticked every box. Chris and Kerrie could not have been more helpful - the room was good and had every amenity one could possibly require and although it was due for renovation it was still much better than some places we stayed in.
It is right in the centre of Picton and most travellers use this town as only a transit point from the ferry - they should really stay a few days as it has so much to offer. Chris really saved our holiday as I had lost my camera battery charger and not able to take many more photos - he took the battery and somehow got it re-charged overnight. Superb customer service!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddietheprinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
262 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $68 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing