We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional customer service!”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Chris and he went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Since becomming the owners 3 months ago Chris and Keri have been busy with major refurbishments. The rooms are very well presented. Due to arriving in the early afternoon Chris gave us a choice of rooms. We chose the room with a sunny balcony overlooking the High Street. The room had a new comfortable queen and single bed, new flat screen tv, new toilet and shower. We had a fridge, kettle and microwave which proved very useful.
The Motel is in an excellent location, a short walk to all local amenities, with off-road parking and optional pick-up service. Chris very kindly lent me his van to pick up a friend from the ferry terminal. Nothing was too much trouble and we would higly recommend this motel to others. We look forward to staying here again in the future and wish Chris and Keri every success with their business.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was so impressed with my stay! We arrived to a very friendly Chris who owns the motels. Chris was fantastic to have a casual yarn to, crack a joke, answer any questions or simply to 'man jobs' for us. The service was given a big thumbs up! The motel itself was well presented, being recently renovated upon change of ownership. Our room was clean and tidy, the bed was new and very comfortable. The housekeepers were thorough and helpful. They have an outdoor area with communal bbq area and seating. Outside every unit were modern means of seating also. The environment was very private in itself for being right in the middle of town. The beauty of the motel was you could walk right across the road to the friendly girls at the supermarket or for a morning coffee. Shopping was right there! Everything was sooo handy. I would especially recommend this motel if you did not have a car, or if you like to socialize and don't enjoy a hike home after having a few drinks out. Overall the new owners Chris and his wife were so pleasant to deal with and helpful. I will be booking in with them when next in town. I can't rate them enough!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaJVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

From the outside the motel looks old and dated, yet when you go into your room its great. Situated in the middle of the village close to all amenities and ferry. Our room had queen and single with balcony overlooking street below. The rooms have had a makeover and very comfortable. Great eateries within 100m. In fact our experience at the Gateway made us regret for rushing through Picton, when we arrived off the ferry to Blenheim only to be sadly dissapointed in the accomodation there.

Staff were great, bed comfortable, location right in the heart of Picton and best of all great value, would return for sure.

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms are above roadway that can get a little rowdy around closing time, still was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I was most impressed with my whole experience at Gateway Motel. I was on the Ferry 6.25pm from Wellington to Picton and was to drive to Christchurch that night. As I was so tired I contacted my husband who rang to get me accommodation in Picton, of course at such late notice everything was full but Kerri went out of her way to find me somewhere to stay, and when I arrived on the doorstep at 10pm that night and they were trying to show others into their rooms, I was welcomed by name, nothing was a problem, shown to an apartment to stay in and made very comfortable. I was even given a small jug of real milk so I could make a cup of tea before hopping into a very comfortable bed. The location is great as right in the middle of the township of Picton so you can just stroll to the water front to have a look at the very picturesque scenery or stop by at a cafe, restaurant or bar. Only 5 mins drive from the Picton to Wellington ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were very impressed with both the standard of our accommodation and the excellent service. There were 4 adults in our recently renovated. one bedroom unit, which was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The motel's in an excellent location close to supermarket,, restaurants and the harbour. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again. Caryl (Brisbane)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffandCaryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

great room and comfortable beds, great facility in the room and the shower was fantastic which is not the case in a lot of motels , customer service was great we were greeted off the ferry at a very late hour and the manager was there to meet us and was more than happy to help with whatever we needed ,had a good knowledge of the local area which was helpful would highly recommend to anyone looking at traveling to this area, also a great location right in the main street of Picton so easy access to everything

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Under new management and being renovated, this is a 2 minute drive from the Interislander and in the middle of Picton.
Rooms are just renovated: clean, comfortable. Friendly host.
If i ever visit Picton again i would stay there again.
Ken

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken10011974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $99 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing