We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be Deceiving, Top Stay”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,031 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
“Looks can be Deceiving, Top Stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

From the outside the motel looks old and dated, yet when you go into your room its great. Situated in the middle of the village close to all amenities and ferry. Our room had queen and single with balcony overlooking street below. The rooms have had a makeover and very comfortable. Great eateries within 100m. In fact our experience at the Gateway made us regret for rushing through Picton, when we arrived off the ferry to Blenheim only to be sadly dissapointed in the accomodation there.

Staff were great, bed comfortable, location right in the heart of Picton and best of all great value, would return for sure.

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms are above roadway that can get a little rowdy around closing time, still was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    189
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
231
390
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I was most impressed with my whole experience at Gateway Motel. I was on the Ferry 6.25pm from Wellington to Picton and was to drive to Christchurch that night. As I was so tired I contacted my husband who rang to get me accommodation in Picton, of course at such late notice everything was full but Kerri went out of her way to find me somewhere to stay, and when I arrived on the doorstep at 10pm that night and they were trying to show others into their rooms, I was welcomed by name, nothing was a problem, shown to an apartment to stay in and made very comfortable. I was even given a small jug of real milk so I could make a cup of tea before hopping into a very comfortable bed. The location is great as right in the middle of the township of Picton so you can just stroll to the water front to have a look at the very picturesque scenery or stop by at a cafe, restaurant or bar. Only 5 mins drive from the Picton to Wellington ferry terminal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were very impressed with both the standard of our accommodation and the excellent service. There were 4 adults in our recently renovated. one bedroom unit, which was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The motel's in an excellent location close to supermarket,, restaurants and the harbour. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again. Caryl (Brisbane)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffandCaryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2012

great room and comfortable beds, great facility in the room and the shower was fantastic which is not the case in a lot of motels , customer service was great we were greeted off the ferry at a very late hour and the manager was there to meet us and was more than happy to help with whatever we needed ,had a good knowledge of the local area which was helpful would highly recommend to anyone looking at traveling to this area, also a great location right in the main street of Picton so easy access to everything

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Under new management and being renovated, this is a 2 minute drive from the Interislander and in the middle of Picton.
Rooms are just renovated: clean, comfortable. Friendly host.
If i ever visit Picton again i would stay there again.
Ken

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken10011974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We arrived on motorbike while raining 9pm unannounced, planning to catch 7am ferry the next morning. Chris and Kerry were very friendly and helpful hosts. Restaurant selection was getting limited by 9.30 so Kerry offered to cook two extra meals, from fresh fish given them that morning, while preparing their own meal. Above and beyond the normal expectations of motel accommodation. The fish was beautiful!!
The room was clean and tidy with a very comfortable new bed.
Throughly recommend this motel to stay while in Picton. Comfortable, central, quiet with amazing hosts.
Ray and Katie.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. It had been recently redecorated and had a brand-new king-sized bed. The owner-manager was helpful and able to advise about local services. The location was excellent and next door to a good variety restaurants etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWKOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#3 of 16 in Picton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing