We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Picton
Post
Inbox
Search
EcoWorld Aquarium and Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre
Open today: 9:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience EcoWorld Aquarium and Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre
from $15.98
More Info
from $29.96
More Info
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
106
91
54
33
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
106
91
54
33
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews touch pool small aquarium blue penguins sea creatures large fish tank aquarium visit guided tour couple of hours knowledgeable staff cruise ship south island tuatara stroke admission touching rehabilitated funding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 343 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Don’t waste your time or money. Very poor with very little to look at. Some creatures kept in very small tanks. I was in and out of there within ten minutes

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Tricia160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoWorldNZ, Owner at EcoWorld Aquarium and Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tricia 160

Thank you for your review.

I’m sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.

Our aim is to give an insight into the amazing animals and sea creatures in and around the Marlborough Sounds and the work

We offer a fully guided tour at 11am and 2pm at no extra charge, concentrating on the Tuatara reptile, Red Crowned Kakariki and various marine animals. Our various tanks represent what you might find on the foreshore, shallow depths (up to 20m) and deep tank (down to 80m).

We take care not to use chemicals, and exchange 8% to 10% of the water daily from the Marlborough Sounds.

We try to offer a lot of explanation with various displays and three video presentations.

We are also a Rescue and Rehabilitation Centre for the area and a breeding centre for the Yellow Crowned Kakariki.

We would be grateful if you could give us specifics so we can address your concerns.

NB. If you would like to return your receipt we would be able to give you a full refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

We visited as part of a cruise ship shore excursion. So we had the issue of it being a small venue but having to stay in quite a large group. So I imagine it would be slightly better going in on your own and you can just wait for a large group (such as ours) to pass by. Otherwise it was great, and you really get to know a lot. About the native animals. The keepers were great, informative and very witty.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank BigVV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoWorldNZ, Owner at EcoWorld Aquarium and Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi BigVV4

Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to make your positive comments.

We do hope that you will visit us again.

Regards John Reuhman
Director EcoWorld Aquarium & Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We took our two kids on the tour group (aged 2 and 4) and they absolutely loved it! The tour guide was amazing and let everyone feed the animals. Highly recommend!!!!!! We spent roughly an hour here and loved watching the big fish and the sting ray! Will definitely go back!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 303melc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoWorldNZ, Owner at EcoWorld Aquarium and Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 303meic

Thank you for your review.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to make your positive comments.

We do hope that you will visit us again.

Regards John Reuhman
Director EcoWorld Aquarium & Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Highly recommend the guided tour of the aquarium. A real hands on experience, especially for kids. Grandchildren were in awe of the tuatara and being able to pat or hold a number of reptiles and crustaceans. The tours are twice daily and free to join with admission. Well priced and good facilities. Will do this again.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank TravellingNanny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoWorldNZ, Owner at EcoWorld Aquarium and Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Travelli..

Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to make your positive comments.

We do hope that you will visit us again.

Regards John Reuhman
Director EcoWorld Aquarium & Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Come at feeding time for a great and enjoyable tour from one of the knowledgeable staff! Ben was awesome!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank pfergus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoWorldNZ, Owner at EcoWorld Aquarium and Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Hi

Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to make your positive comments.

We do hope that you will visit us again.

Regards John Reuhman
Director EcoWorld Aquarium & Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews