We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Portage Resort Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was very disappointed in our stay here. There is definitely better value for money out there! The staff, although friendly, were slow and didn't seem to know what they were doing. The food was average. The rooms were nothing special. There was no air-conditioning so if you want to be cool in summer you will need to pay more for a balcony-which has very cheap, uncomfortable furniture, so you won't want to sit out for long. You pay for the view...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kia Ora Lily071,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views here. We were very fortunate to have such a great and hot summer. The buildings are all facing the sea and the evening breeze is cooling the rooms down with the air going through the open windows. The furniture on the balconies are part of the overall upgrade and some have already been replaced.
As a result of some of the reviews we have also changed our pricing strategy and we are creating special packages throughout the year which are available to book on our website.

We hope we can welcome you again to show you the progress we have made.

Stefan Kracke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    112
    71
    61
    33
See reviews for
49
166
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Portage in eary February. The welcome we received was the best on our travels in the south, you really get the feeling that the staff are passionate about what they do and are happy. The restaurant serves nice food in a decent setting, and despite it being packed the service was attentive. The rooms unfortunately let the resort down a bit - I'd suggest they haven't been updated in a while...the flooring is obviously worn and the walls definitley need a new coat of paint; furntiure could do with being bought in to this decade as well. The views were beautiful over the sound. We'd love to come back and see the resort in all it's potential glory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kia Ora James M,

Thank you very much for your positive review of Peppers Portage. We are very passionate about our place and really appreciate your comments. It is a great motivation to see that we are making progress in restoring the former glory of the retreat. Our chefs are sourcing almost all the ingredients for their menus locally and are using mostly produce that is in season.
We would love to welcome you back one day to show you the new rooms after the refurbishment and I thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Stefan Kracke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had read some mixed reviews on this board about Peppers Portage, but when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and presentable but could have used some freshening up.The food was really good and so were the wide variety of refreshing drinks. Staff - Always sharp and helpful. Never asked twice for anything. We enjoyed the summer evenings sitting outside and watching the sunset.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taga5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kia Ora Someonelse1,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Peppers Portage and I passed your review on to our team members. It is a great encouragement for them. The rooms are undergoing an upgrade this winter and we are confident that you would like the new look. Hopefully you will come and visit us again, it is a great location for short break and only a short drive for you.

Stefan Kracke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We paid a high rate but were allocated a dungeon of a room. Many of the rooms have excellent views so be careful about the quality of the room that you are allocated. Some rooms are terrible. Our confirmed dinner reservations were not honoured and they interrupted all members of our group during the afternoon. They did offer to seat us at separate tables. Finally we had to eat cheaper meals in the cafe. Managers here seem to avoid customer contact (however we did not ask to talk with them). Overall it was a very disappointing visit.

Room Tip: Confirm the view that you will receive and the elevation of the room. Don't get the rooms right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Kia Ora Con_Thai_Aussie,

Thank you very much for sharing your views on Peppers Portage with us. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I have personally reviewed your comments and spoken to all the staff members and managers that were involved in your stay.

Your group was accommodated in a variety of rooms ranging from our Kowhai Lodge rooms with large balconies and superb views, Hillside rooms with unobstructed views across the whole bay and our standard Courtyard rooms. The different rates your group members paid also reflect the different levels of standard. I have mentioned previously that some are undergoing a refurbishment at the moment but I do not agree with the comparison to dungeons.

We tried to accommodate you in our restaurant and confirmed a table for 7pm. Our staff tried to contact some of your group later only to make you aware of how busy our restaurant had become with bookings during the afternoon and attempted to find a more suitable time or different seating arrangement to avoid disappointment. Before they did this, we confirmed with the resort you stayed the previous night, that your group was dining individually. Otherwise we wouldn't have suggested this option. Our team was then informed by one member of your group that you have decided to dine in our Snapper Restaurant and Cafe on the beach. As a result of your change we were able to accept more bookings in our Te Weka restaurant.

The menu in the Snapper is differently priced as it is a Cafe style menu to give our guests the option of two different dining experiences. We tried to accommodate you there ad-hoc although no booking was made but one member of your group then decided to go back to Te Weka to dine there with 6 people. At that time all tables were booked but we advised them of the short waiting time.

I think it is also not appropriate to stipulate that the resort is poorly managed and that the managers avoid guest contact. The Restaurant and Front Office Manager were both involved and at various times in contact with you and members of your group and I was kept updated throughout the day.

It is always very sad for us to hear of guests that left unhappy and we have taken your comments on board to further improve our service levels.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts here.

Stefan Kracke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Picton hotels

Governors Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Four of us had booked well ahead and had requested a two bedroom Hillside unit but we were initially allocated two separate rooms which proved to be far too hot. This was changed for a Hillside Unit but only very grudgingly.
We enjoyed our stay but after 3 nights were ready to leave. The front-of-house staff need a few lessons in customer service - any request was received as a nuisance - and the rooms are not really up to standard. Certainly not what we would expect from a Peppers Resort.
Food was OK and the restaurant staff were inexperienced but charming.
But we won't be going again. There are better places to stay in the Sounds.
Graeme B

Room Tip: Go to another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Kia Ora GraemeGovernersBay,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that your booking was accidentally placed into a different room type. Please accept my sincere apologies for that.
The rooms are undergoing a refurbishment at the moment and I am very confident that they will meet the standards once this is completed.

I am glad that you overall enjoyed your stay and the food in our restaurant and maybe we can welcome you back at a later time to show you the improvements we have made.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Peppers Portage was a great getway location for our long weekend from our busy life. our son enjoyed the easy access to the bay and the jetty.
Clearly the new manager and team have turned this around as we did enjoy staying here but had been put off by previous negative comments.

thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkw1-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Kia Ora dkw1-13,

Thank you very much for your review and the positive comments about our retreat. I have had great pleasure to share your feedback with our team and they apreciated it very much.
I am in particularly grateful that you did not let the negative comments put you off what has been a great short holiday for you.

We hope that you will visit us again in the not so distant future to see what other improvements we have made.

Many thanks again

Stefan Kracke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our family stayed at the resort in January for 2 nights. We had saved up for a little bit of something special and thought this was the resort to experience this. Photos on website must have been taken years ago as the general consensus from our family is that the whole resort needs TLC. We concur with some of the other guests comments about the state of the showers, general room appearance, dining etc and add that the pool (during peak holiday season) hadn't even been cleaned. We paid $350 a night for our room. We stayed at another motel later on in our trip that cost us $150 per night and was in better shape than this resort. Beautiful setting but until the renovations/upgrade are completed we believe the price should reflect Portages current state. Staff were lovely but seemed to be wearing many hats indicating that staffing levels were inadequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Kia Ora Aaron D,

I really appreciate your comments about your stay in January.
Since you have stayed here we were able to make a lot of improvements and are confident that we have improved not only the service but also the condition of most of the rooms. Our refurbishment has started and we see good progress already. We have also listened to the comments here and reviewed our rates for the next months.

Thank you very much again for taking the time to share your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
6.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
6.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
2.9 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
7.7 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portage Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portage Resort Hotel

Property: The Portage Resort Hotel
Address: 2923 Kenepuru Road | Picton, Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Peppers Portage)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Picton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portage Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base yourself at THE PORTAGE and experience the best Marlborough has to offer. We are an ideal 2 or 3 night stay so that you can enjoy winery tours in and around Blenheim and Picton, cruising the Marlborough Sounds, walking New Zealand's famous Queen Charlotte Track, wildlife eco tours, or sea kayaking , fishing and sailing on Kenepuru Sound. Let us know your favourite adventure activity when you book and we'll arrange it for you. Food options range from quality restaurant dining featuring seafood to a cafe overlooking the spectacular Sounds view. Located 10 minutes walk from the acclaimed Queen Charlotte Track, THE PORTAGE offers a selection of accommodation from our premium Kowhai suites to two story villas and hillside sea view rooms as well as a few budget rooms. THE PORTAGE RESORT HOTEL's central location in Marlborough makes it easy to reach from all over New Zealand. Access is easy - its only 15 minutes from Picton by boat or 1.25 hours by road. Blenheim Airport has multiple flights from the major cities of Auckland, Wellington or Christchurch, every day. THE PORTAGE is your Marlborough accommodation base to explore the magic of the Marlborough Sounds on the south island of New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Portage Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portage Hotel Picton
Portage Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing