We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Home and Hosts - Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McCormick House Luxury Accommodation
Ranked #7 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Choosing a special place to stay for Christmas (or as an everyday treat) is easy thanks to Jeanne & Carl at McCormick House Picton. We have treasured memories of our Christmas at McCormick House - especially the delights of a sumptuous champagne breakfast shared with Jeanne and Carl over great conversation and laughs on the garden terrace. The room presentation and meticulous attention to every detail is an unspoken labour of care and generosity by Jeanne - sublime comfort, privacy and luxury! We felt at home, relaxed and rested - 100% pure satisfaction.

No Carl - we haven't forgotten or could ever forget you - thank you so much!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAJAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2011

we spend one night in this B&B, and it was a so great time the have time to discust with the owner.
the room is very well decorated, comfortable, fruits and cookies for your convience.
about the breakfast, simply delicious, cooked according your request.
in fact, it was a greatful time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaulois-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I must admit, having returned from NZ, I am surprised by the very positive reviews on McCormick House. If I had known the reality, I would not have booked there. The hosts are hospitable and helpful, but the Palm Room was very ordinary, with bilious green walls and the 'upmarket' bathroom failed to mask the fact that this was a room in a standard suburban house, which had a musty and catty smell and was a fair distance from the centre of town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlPicton, Owner at McCormick House Luxury Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

It is very upsetting to hear that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us.
McCormick House has been independently assessed and rated as a 5 star property for the past 7 years.

These guests booked their room in June 2010, to stay for one night on Boxing day. They had the option back then, to book any of our other rooms, if the colour or price was not to their liking. We have several photographs and virtual tours of each room, clearly displaying colours and rates on our website.
They even had the option on arrival, to select another room, but chose to say nothing.

McCormick House is a large house, architect designed in 1914 and far from the suggested 'standard suburban house.' One of the few remaining renovated, grand family homes in Picton.

We pride ourselves on maintaining a high standard of cleanliness at all times and are disturbed and puzzled by the 'musty and catty smell' comment. Our rooms are aired and serviced daily and our two cats do not have access to guest bedrooms.

McCormick House is set in a quiet location less than 1 mile from the town center, away from the noise of the harbor, trains, pubs and bars. These guests had their own transport which would have taken them less than 2 minutes to drive to town. If guests wish to walk in to town, we advise that it is an easy 15 to 20 minute walk. If this is an issue, we offer complimentary transfers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at McCormick House, Picton. Our only "complaint" would be we would have preferred the bathroom - which was very modern and stylish - to have been separated from the bedroom by a soundproof door, and not just a fairly open, louvered door.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_wmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed in the Palm Room which was beautiful The highlights of this room is the double spa bath within a sun room with loungers, the beautifully appointed on-suite and the amazing bed. We had a lovely relaxing break and our hosts were very welcoming, even taking us for a drive to experience the beauty of the sounds.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TISavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

McCormick House is far away one of my favorite places to stay. My husband and I visited last year during a 2 week trip to New Zealand. The rooms were spotless, perfect and so romantic. It was an unbelievable trip and we left McCormick House for last. We still talk about how unbelievable our room, THE BREAKFAST, and the service was. We are on the email updates for McCormick House which come only once or twice a year, but help us get nostalgic about our stay. The tomatoes at breakfast are unforgettable as well as the bacon and assorted jams, honey. Really quiet and relaxing. Short walk to little town, bay area. Just great relaxing way to close out our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustJustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This was one of our favorite B&Bs in New Zealand. Stayed here 3 nights of our 3 week honeymoon and have only positive things to say. The hosts are down to earth and breakfast was awesome! Our room was beautiful and the jacuzzi outstanding after a long day hiking Marlborough Sounds!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaSantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.4 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#3 of 24 in Picton
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
1.3 mi away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
1.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.9 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCormick House Luxury Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCormick House Luxury Accommodation

Address: 21 Leicester Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: $276 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — McCormick House Luxury Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCormick House and your 'Kiwi' hosts Jeanne and Carl, offer luxury 5 star bed and breakfast accommodation in Picton. Set in a quiet, sunny location on half an acre of private established, native gardens, historic McCormick House is ideally located just 3 minutes drive from Picton Interisland ferry or train station. Choose from three individually designed rooms - each richly furnished with a sumptuous bed, luxurious 100% Egyptian cotton linens, each with its own stunning, designer en suite bathroom. Start your day at this luxury Picton bed and breakfast with a leisurely delicious gourmet breakfast. In the evening, join your hosts for a pre-dinner glass of local world class Marlborough wine. Picton is an ideal base for walking the stunning Queen Charlotte Track or visiting famous Marlborough wineries. Eco friendly McCormick House is also only minutes walk from Picton town centre, cafes, restaurants and galleries. Water activities of the picturesque Queen Charlotte Sound include boat cruises, kayaking, sailing, fishing, eco tours and dolphin watching. Carl and Jeanne enjoy meeting guests from different cultures and both look forward to welcoming you to their Picton bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your McCormick House Luxury Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing