We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get place to start a soth island trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCormick House Luxury Accommodation
Ranked #6 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sonoma,CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Get place to start a soth island trip”
Reviewed December 17, 2009

McCormick House was a delight to stay at from the minute we met Carl and Jeanne till the day we left. The room was clean and very comfortable with very nice amenities, including the jacuzzi tub.
Breakfast was very good with a choice of cold or hot entrees all or most local and fresh.
The best reason to stay at McCormick house is the owners, they are friendly and have abondance of knowedge of not only their area, but of the rest of the island. They gave us great hiking, eating and travel information we used thruout our trip. I would reccomend their place to anyone traveling thru Picton.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, ID
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2009

McCormick House was our first stop on South Island after a three night stay in Wellington. This was the most expensive B&B we booked on our trip, so we were hoping for better than average accommodations and some helpful advice about activities in the Marlborough region. I'm happy to say that McCormick House exceeded our expectations on all counts. Jeanne & Carl were perfect hosts for us, friendly and knowledgeable, not at all pretentious but also not intrusive. We stayed two nights, and on our first evening Carl brought out a large map and helped us plan our next day's hike along the Queen Charlotte track (a highly recommended highlight of our trip). Breakfasts were excellent and included a sampling of some half dozen different types of local New Zealand honey. Our hosts were also very knowledgeable about the Marlborough wineries, and suggested several places to stop for lunch and wine tasting on our drive to our next destination. We were very happy with our stay and felt that the quality of the accommodations and knowledge and helpfulness of our hosts more than justified the somewhat higher than average cost.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79gulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killcare, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

'Service' seems such an inappropriate word when you are made to be so welcome at McCormicks. This immaculately renovated B&B could be a destination in itself. The house and garden ooze history and interest in every corner. From artworks to veggie patches (chooks as well - try the scrambled eggs for breakfast) this really sets a standard that is very hard to beat. Fantastic hosts who couldn't do enough. We loved every minute. So if you have the money, it is a bit more than most B&Bs, give yourselves a real treat. Special thumbs up for the commitment to sustainability and showing that being environmentally friendly is not an extra burden but involved with everything they do.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

McCormick House is a beautifully restored 19th-century house run by hosts Carl and Jeanne. Each of the three rooms is distinctly different: the Captain's Room with its chocolate walls and claw-foot bathtub, the Palm Room with its wasabi-coloured walls and spa/sun-lounger annexe, and the Boat Shed room, with its sea-shell theme and blue tones. We stayed in the latter, which was equipped with an extremely comfortable bed and a great shower. The whole house has a lovely, warm atmosphere and Carl & Jeanne are very sociable, easy-going hosts with a contagious sense of humour. Breakfast is copious, featuring half a dozen different honeys, fresh fruit, eggs with smoked salmon or full English. We have especially fond memories of our stay at McCormick House, which provided the perfect start and end to our 4-day Queen Charlotte Track hike in between.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady from Luxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Jeanne & Carl were wonderful hosts, making us feel very welcome in their home. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the breakfast superb (inc Carl's 5 different honeys) & the highlight was having a lounge room to return to in the evening with an open fire & a selection of music available. Alternatively, if the weather is fine, a lovely outdoor area with sunlounges is a pleasant place to relax. All in all, a great place to stay in a beautiful part of NZ.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We spent two nights here in July 2009 and loved it. The house and gardens were just gorgeous, and the room itself (the Boatshed Room) was so light and comfortable that it was a struggle to leave it. Carl and Jeanne were great hosts, and gave us some helpful dining and sightseeing advice. The delicious continental breakfast (and especially Jeanne's homemade muesli) was a big plus. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neverkissacactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My wife and I rode the ferry from Wellington on a raw, grey fall day into the warmth of Carl & Jeanne's home. What an extraordinary way to start our visit to the South Island! While they don't serve dinner, they pointed us to a terrific straits-side restaurant. Room, bed and bath could not be improved. I need to eat gluten free, perhaps not so easy to provide for in a small town, but Jeanne had gone out of her way to get a whole range of goodies for me to eat alongside the wonderful eggs and bacon next morning, then insisted that we take all the left-overs along. Carl showed me to the good trails into the bush on the other side of the main road, my introduction to the visual wonders of strait-side ridges.

If you need to be near the ferry coming or going, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.9 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
16.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 22 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Escape to Picton
Escape to Picton
#5 of 22 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCormick House Luxury Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCormick House Luxury Accommodation

Property: McCormick House Luxury Accommodation
Address: 21 Leicester Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — McCormick House Luxury Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCormick House and your 'Kiwi' hosts Jeanne and Carl, offer luxury 5 star bed and breakfast accommodation in Picton. Set in a quiet, sunny location on half an acre of private established, native gardens, historic McCormick House is ideally located just 3 minutes drive from Picton Interisland ferry or train station. Choose from three individually designed rooms - each richly furnished with a sumptuous bed, luxurious 100% Egyptian cotton linens, each with its own stunning, designer en suite bathroom. Start your day at this luxury Picton bed and breakfast with a leisurely delicious gourmet breakfast. In the evening, join your hosts for a pre-dinner glass of local world class Marlborough wine. Picton is an ideal base for walking the stunning Queen Charlotte Track or visiting famous Marlborough wineries. Eco friendly McCormick House is also only minutes walk from Picton town centre, cafes, restaurants and galleries. Water activities of the picturesque Queen Charlotte Sound include boat cruises, kayaking, sailing, fishing, eco tours and dolphin watching. Carl and Jeanne enjoy meeting guests from different cultures and both look forward to welcoming you to their Picton bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your McCormick House Luxury Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing