We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Don't judge a book by it's cover...”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Pulling up to this hotel I was a little concerned, the outside looked dated. But once we opened the door to our room we were immediately happy that we had selected the Picton Beachcomber. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the harbor. It was peaceful and quiet. The bed was comfortable and the spa bathtub was great. Dinner at the restaurant (someone obviously LOVES Christmas) was very good - both the fish and the steak were a great value. The location was very convenient to stores and restaurants. If we ever have the opportunity to visit Picton again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonvoyageabientot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    117
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
141
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

You look out over the harbour. I stayed in a room on the level of the restaurant - highly recommended. Relaxing and drinks on my balcony overlooking the water. Food was good - was on a tour, but the a la carte looked great. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twickers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Spacious room that had angled very from balcony to harbor. Can be noisy and hot (no aircon). Did not eat there as it was an easy walk to more choice down by the harbour.

Very good value for size and location.

We used it as a staging post for a sailing charter which work well and the staff were happy to store our bags for the 4 nights between our two one night stays.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed here for a night before our early morning ferry crossing back to the North Island. Room was clean and spacious. The only sink is the vanity unit in the main room which was a bit odd. Insulation of rooms was poor, as we discovered when the winds picked up in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Stayed in Picton for one night only as had early morning crossing on the Interislander Ferry to the North Island. Picton is lovely for a ferry port. This motel was fine for a place to sleep in for one night. Room was clean and spacious. Did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. Location is excellent with only five minutes to the local bars and cafes. Would stay here again if crossing on the ferry.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan48_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Had a nice stay here but be aware that the spa pool is no more!!!!!! despite beeing advertised on their web site.
Our room was fine except the bathroom had no wash basin but utilised what looked like a former kitchen sink inside the front door. Not very private.
Internet was expensive at $10 an hour and be aware it does not support skype or windows live....as soon as the video connects you get knocked off! a total waste of money for what we wanted to do.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed one night before starting the Queen Charlotte track the next day. This place is perfectly adequate. Our room was spotless, everything worked, the beds were comfortable. We had breakfast in the room and it all arrived as ordered on time. It's conveniently located close to the harbour and the centre of Picton. No regrets.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blah1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.0 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picton Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Beachcomber Inn

Property: Picton Beachcomber Inn
Address: 27 Waikawa Road, Picton 7372, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#6 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Picton Beachcomber Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Picton Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picton Beachcomber Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing