We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picton Beachcomber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A truly pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment which was faboulous. Although the property is officially rated 3star plus by qualmark, we found the facilities and quality of accommodation to be better than many four star places we have stayed in New Zealand.

The rooms were spacious, and furnisihings were of high quality. The bath was modern and complete with spa bath. We were specially impressed by the level of cleanliness in bath, kitchen and living areas.

We originally intended to use Picton as a base to explore Marlborough sounds and that is what we did. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the town itself. It is a nice little place with a pictursque setting and could be ideal spot for a relaxing trip. We would love to come again some day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    113
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
41
134
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stopped overnight here after getting off the Interislander Ferry from Wellington. The service and room was exceptional and the views from the balcony were amazing. We slept soundly and woke to the sound of chirping birds. A highly recommended place to stay in what is a lovely town. We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stopped here after getting the ferry over from Wellington to the South Island. An early start was planned as we were heading for Christchurch, about 5 hours drive South.
Half way there, we picked up a voicemail from the Beachcomber to say we'd left our gortex hiking jackets... and we were heading off to the glaciers for some tramping...
Angela was kind enough to get the jackets couriered to us. OK we paid, but Angela wnet out of here way to help us out.
Would the Hilton at Heathrow Terminal 4 do that? Or any of the other chain hotel corporations?
Thanks Angela.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarrawonga, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This Inn reminded me of the beach hotels in Florida except for the view. It was comfortable, large and had a balcony view of the harbour. The restaurant was out-dated, but the food was excellent and the amount on your plate was worth more than the price you paid. The staff was friendly and helpful. The walk to town was short if you knew where to find the stairs that led down to the marina (walking from the front of the Inn was a little farther). I don't know how hot it gets in Picton during the summer because they had no A/C or fans in the room. We had to open the balcony doors and a window to air out the room because it was slightly stuffy. Otherwise, it was a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony looking out on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLW312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has recently refurbished rooms ,all will be done very soon.We had one on the 2nd floor ,it had excellent views of the harbour , and everything inside it was new.The only comments would be that there is no extraction fan over the cooking area and you have to be careful not to set off the alarms and also we found the bed to be too soft for us,but overall it's in good location and value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tugun
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Took advise from Tripadvisor Travellers & stayed here , Extremely efficient and friendly front Office staff . Booked a Beautiful refurbished Studio , large Unit , Kitchenette , view of Picton Harbour from the Balcony , watch the Inter island Ferrys come and go 24 hrs a day .
Right beside a small marina , ,Town only 5 min walk away .
Had a fantastic meal up in the Restaurant over looking the Harbour on the 3 rd floor ,

Swimming Pool , but not in use , to cold , Earthquake Modifications were going on when we were there but were of no worry ,
we ll be back ---------- from Tugun Qld Aust

Room Tip: 3 rd floor i guess , better views , but we were very happy where we were .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keezaTugun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

After a long drive from Fox Glacier, we were pleased to arrive at the Picton Beachcomber Inn. We were there for just one night, catching the early Cook Straight Ferry the next day. We arrived to a construction zone (which were were informed off at the time of booking, and offered a reduced price). The lift was not working (maintenance contractor had been working on it all day I was informed), and there was building material tidily placed around the building.

The room we were given was spectacular, very fancy decor, and fittings. The view was fine also. The room even had the 'new carpet' smell, so we really felt like we were in a new place. The bed was very comfortable, and there was plenty of room.

We did not use the restaurant, instead opted for fish and chips from around the corner.

Check in, check out, parking was all seamless, and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karabatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.1 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#3 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picton Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Beachcomber Inn

Property: Picton Beachcomber Inn
Address: 27 Waikawa Road, Picton 7372, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#6 Family Hotel in Picton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Picton Beachcomber Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Picton Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picton Beachcomber Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing