We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in lovely Picton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“One night in lovely Picton”
Reviewed March 13, 2008

My partner and I decided on a last minute trip to Picton during our short stay in Wellington. The Beachcomber was an obvious choice for price and the reviews here. And it was just what we wanted.
The room was very spacious and nicely decorated - queen bed and a single. The bathroom was a bit ordinary, as the interior looked straight out of a old caravan or motor home and the hand basin was outside the actual bathroom. But it was clean, thick towels, the hot water didn't run out, and the shower had good pressure (for those tired legs after walking up and down mountains). And as all the other reviews have said, the balcony and the views over the sound - just perfect!
Picton town centre was a very short walk. You can do a few nice walks from almost directly outside the Beachcomber (to Snout point which is well worth it!). But catch a boat over to one of the many places along the Queen Charlotte trac for more great scenery and walking (we went to Ferneaux Lodge which was excellent!)
We didn't eat and the Beachcomber but the menu looked great. But we did unfortunatly eat at a place on the main street called "Slip Inn". The waitress did not know anything about the menu, the food was ordinary and my partner's meal came out 15 mins before mine. We met other travellers who had an even worse experience at this restaurant than us. But on the plus side, the manager did discount our meals for all the confusion etc.
On the whole, get yourself to Picton - the scenary and walking is supurb! Stay at the Beachcomber - we'd go back without hesitation. But don't pat their cat (a ginger and white pus) - it bites!

  • Liked — The great view and location
  • Disliked — Not staying long enough!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    118
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
146
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Stayed two nights at this motel in beginning of November. I think the previous reviewer must of stayed in a room that had not been refurbished as the room was nicely decorated along with a large comfortable bed (and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful). Added bonus of a balcony that has views of the harbour (worth the $5 NZ extra!)

Only slight negative was that the bathroom wasn't that big and the washbasin outside of the bathroom

  • Liked — The view, good value for Money
  • Disliked — Washbasin outside the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joandphilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Spent one night here before going on the Queen Charlotte track walk. Very disappointing. Old fashioned motel style accommodation with entrance over looking car park. VERY tired room and grumpy unhelpful staff. The worst part of our trip to NZ.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Stayed one night in two adjoining rooms booked direct via email. Super adjoining rooms on the top floor right at the end giving double
aspect views over the harbour which was excellent.

Town was half closed for winter but this hotel is a very short walk from the main street and ferry terminal so all very convienent. Clean
and functional rooms. Small lift and pool but the view and price make
this excellent an excellent place to be.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank watchitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

We stayed one night in this hotel - beautifully decorated room, huge bed, terrific views over the harbour (and mountains from the front). Agree washbasin was in a slightly bizarre setting outside the bathroom but not a problem. All very modern and trendy. Breakfast was not that good and not that cheap either - but on the whole would recommend this hotel. Easy to walk round the town from here, handy for ferries.

  • Liked — Views and room decor
  • Disliked — balcony overlooked by restaurant diners
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scissorsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

As part of a bus tour of New Zealand we were booked into The Beachcomber Inn at Picton. What a delight ! We were lucky enough to be allocated one of their updated rooms (I believe they are working through the whole building). Our bedroom was very stylish, comfortable and had a huge sliding picture window which overlooked the harbour. What a view ! Picton itself was
lovely - after getting off the ship from Wellington across the
Cook straight it was very pleasant to walk around the harbourside and the Memorial gardens after dinner and bed
before setting out for a trip around the South Island. So
ask for a renovated room when booking.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AdaptableAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2006

We had not booked in advance and were lucky enough to walk in and get a room on the top (3rd) floor directly overlooking the harbour. The room was not fully equipped with toaster or plates as it has its own restaurant but a request to Reception resolved that. The room was large with a huge king bed and the wraparound balcony made up for the small bathroom with only a loo and bath. The hand basin was outside the door and also had to be used for washing cups but I understand from Reception that not all the rooms have the same layout as this. As we only wanted 1 night before catching the Interislander, we were more than content to put up with that inconvenience and admire the views from our balcony. The Beachcomber is in easy walking distance to the town and very convenient for the Interislander ferry.

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — No hand basin in bathroom
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picton Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Beachcomber Inn

Property: Picton Beachcomber Inn
Address: 27 Waikawa Road, Picton 7372, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#6 Family Hotel in Picton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Picton Beachcomber Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Picton Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picton Beachcomber Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing