We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Villa Backpackers Lodge(Picton)(Great Value!)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broadway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldan Lodge Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jasmine Court Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$84
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel Picton(Picton)(Great Value!)
$97
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$60
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gables(Picton)(Great Value!)
$103
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$172
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
161
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass of wineother guestsjanet iangreat hoststravel tipssouth islandcorn fritterslocal knowledgehome cooked breakfastcomfortable bednew zealandon arrivalexcellent breakfasta great staywelcome drinkperfect hospitalitycoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 171 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The fabulous Janet and Ian are such great hosts. Anchor downs Inn has a wonderfully warm and welcoming feeling. Very clean and tidy and great value for money. Picton has lots a attractions to see and do so well worth a vist. Thanks for a night to remember and a great breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We arrived by motorcycle on a wet evening and were warmly welcomed by Janet and Ian. We were introduced to our lovely room that was tastefully decorated. Our motorcycle was tucked safely away in the storage area. Janet provided us with a welcome drink of a beer brewed locally. Janet was a wealth of information regarding local sights and eating places.
We would recommend this B and B to anyone.
Thanks Ian for the excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Staying with Ian & Janet was like staying with friends, but with the bonus there is no expectations on you. Free to come & go at will, choose a breakfast time to suit your own program and get the personal attention that makes you feel you count. Our 10 year old grand daughter was very reluctant to leave, that's a high recommendation right there!

Room Tip: Back room has an ensuite & direct access to the outdoors
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harry2497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We enjoyed your lovely family visit and sharing in your awesome granddaughters success over that weekend. We hope to see you again some time. Kind regards Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

From the moment we arrived on the ferry and were collected by Janet, we knew we were in good hands. The room we stayed in had everything we needed and our breakfasts each morning were cooked to our liking. Chatting to Ian and Janet and other guests was easy and informative and gives the stay a homely feel. Our son left his headphones behind and they are being posted back to us in Aus, what great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Right0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed having the 3 of you here and hope the rest of your trip was successful. We hope that the headphones arrived safely. We look forward to having you to stay again. kind regards Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a great stay at Anchor Down reinforcing Picton is much more than a stopover to Wellington. The B&B is modern, quiet and well appointed and an easy walk into town. Janet and Ian are great hosts with a relaxing wine on arrival and easy going and informative about local attractions thereafter, and they provide a great breakfast and coffee. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandCas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews