We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I arrived in the evening after a 10 hour drive and the lady at the desk was so kind to me. She went out of her way to make sure I was wafm enough and each day the staff would chat with people to make sure they were happy. As I was the only in the dorm on my first night I even got a discount which was awesome. Free wi-fi which is strongest in the common area where there is a toasty fire to keep you warm. The bedrooms are a little cold so bring your sleeping bag as a blankie. Also free pudding and breakfast is provided everyday.

Room Tip: The smaller dorm is a couple of dollars more expensive than the 11 people one. But it does come with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tabby_giraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Sequoia Lodge is well located, very cosy and quiet, and very good value for money: for the same price you pay in so many hostels, you get free chocolate pudding every night at 8pm (and it's so delicious!), free breakfast, and access to the hot tub !
There is a fire place and sofas ; the kitchen is well equiped, very clean and well ordered (you actually want to start cooking there).
The only problem is that it can get really cold during winter, especially in the early morning. Adding some heaters would be nice ;)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolande S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the ensuite double room, which was nice and clean and in fact more like a motel unit than a cheap backpackers. The common areas were extremly nice and well kept and they are ok with you staying there after check-out as long as you tell them beforehand (very handy if you intend to catch the afternoon ferry). Nice staff and great extras such as free wifi, delicious free chocolate pudding in the evening and a hot tub free of charge, too.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hoeferjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a twin private room - it was a great room, with an interesting little patio out front. There was a little bistro table and flowering vines waving around in the breezez. Friendly staff, nice kitchen and lounging areas, and patio outside. The atmosphere here was so chill and friendly. And there's free wi-fi in the common areas. Plus, nightly dessert!

They have free parking available, just be sure to ask the person at the desk where to park so you don't get towed.

Room Tip: Free parking - ask about where to park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dt_Panic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a very friendly hostel in a good location. We had a double room with ensuite and a veranda with loungers all at a very good price. They offer free chocolate pudding in the evenings and have a spa pool (although we didn't try it). Highly recommended for value, location and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I arrived in Sequoia on 23/4, for a short trip in the top of South Island, as soon as I arrived from the ferry I could spot the shuttle waiting outside eventhough the hostel is very close to the ferry.
I love Sequoia from heart, I booked a double room with bathroom, the room was lovely, the shower was great and I felt like at home. Staff is great, i bought my tour to Marlbourough through them and they have free chocolate pudding every night at 8pm.
My only regreat, that I could stay longer, because eventhough Picton is a very small town it's lovely, the people is wonderful and you feel like you wish to stay longer, the views are beautiful, the food and the staff in restaurants and cafes are wonderful, 100% recommended.
A NZ friend said to me that it was only a Ferry Town, I would say it for me it is a Fairy Town! love it! :-)

Room Tip: I booked the double room insuite! Love it! very peaceful place and homie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shali72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

had a great stay here, from the 1st step in the door you got a good friendly vibe, picton itself isnt up to too much apart from the bakery but if your in picton make sure you stay here. great facilities free chocolate pudding movie room for a rainy day and a spa pool, and great value

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromlondononwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
256 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.3 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aldan Lodge Motel
Aldan Lodge Motel
#7 of 16 in Picton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 3a Nelson Square, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range: $20 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly, relaxed, family owned hostel. The Spa pool’s bubbling hot, the fire’s roaring, it’s warm. Great music’s playing and the people are friendly & genuine. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Free all you can eat breakfast every morning, all year. Free wireless internet. Sky TV on the big screen. Free Bikes. Car Parking. Central location. Our sister hostel’s in Nelson, Tasman Bay Backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing