We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing”
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Picton is great. This is a fact, the city is calm and in a way nice to rest in.

This hostel fits perfectly the city. Calm, cool, relaxed. Everything is easy, everybody takes things the easy way.

The place is clean, and the services offered for free are really at a higher level than many hostels, everywhere in the country. Free pickup/drop off, free WiFi, free spa... Everything is made to make you feel good. And it works pretty well.

I was at first supposed to stay two or three day there, I spent more than a week. Everybody is friendly and helpful.

And this chocolate pudding itself constitutes a great reason to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solomai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    53
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
58
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

As soon as we got off the ferry, the Sequoia Lodge van was waiting for us! The drivers were friendly, and made the short trip to the Lodge enjoyable. Sadly, we arrived late and missed the infamous chocolate pudding.

Our stay at the Sequoia was short, just one night, and we stayed in one of the twin rooms with bathroom. My only complaint about my stay was the complete lack of hot water in the twin rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my first stay at a backbackers and I was pleasantly surprised. We had a double ensuite room that was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was clean and well equiped and the chocolate pudding that the staff made in the evening was a tasty treat. There was a good outdoor area and a comfortable lounge and separate TV room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We are an older couple and we stayed in a lovely ensuite room for 2 nights. The room was clean and comfortable, the communal kitchen was was also clean and well equipped. The chocolate pudding and ice cream at night was an added bonus, yummy! An easy walk into the supermarket and town centre, would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

They weren't kidding! They serve chocolate pudding and vanilla ice cream EVERY NIGHT during winter! Yummy!!! The people working there were friendly and helpful, and the place was sparkling clean! You can see about 6-7 people cleaning every morning! Yay Sequoia Lodge! :D

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yltyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Wat really stands out is the nice atmosphere in the hostel, even when it's not crowded. This on the other hand is the only positive about this hostel if you ask me.

We stayed in a motel room: supposedly queensize bed, kitchenette and private bathroom. The bed was way too small for two European sized persons (1,80m and 1,90m) and was definitely no queensize. Both bathroom and bed were far from clean: we found a dead bug in the bathroom, hairs from earlier guests in both the bathroom and on the bed and bed linnen did not smell clean at all. Because the bed did not felt clean at all we slept with extra clothes on in bed to compensate. Not a good thing at all. We really felt uncomfortable being in this room.

This was by far the worst accommodation we stayed in during our trip in New Zealand. Maybe because our standards are too high and we mostly stayed in decent hotels, motels or appartements, but the least you may expect is a clean bed/room.

Definitely a no go if you ask me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisvandenBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was looking forward to staying at this hostel before I arrived on the South Island. I had heard rumours and tales of a delicious hot chocolate pudding provided to guests at Sequoia Lodge. When I and my four friends arrived and eagerly asked about the pudding we were assured that pudding would be provided, and that they also have an outdoor spa that we should use. Thank freud that I did. They usually turn the spa off at 9 pm, however they allowed my friends and I to spend a great time longer in the tub, under the stars, drinking wine and smoking a cigar. The rooms are spacious and are painted a warm red colour (better than the murky-mustard walls of other hostels). The staff at the hostel provide guests with free hot waters and extra blankets to use during the night. Overall, the staff were fun and friendly and helped make our stay better than 5/5. A must stay.

Ps. The pudding is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malekei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.5 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#10 of 26 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Property: Sequoia Lodge
Address: 3a Nelson Square, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly, relaxed, family owned hostel. The Spa pool’s bubbling hot, the fire’s roaring, it’s warm. Great music’s playing and the people are friendly & genuine. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Free all you can eat breakfast every morning, all year. Free wireless internet. Sky TV on the big screen. Free Bikes. Car Parking. Central location. Our sister hostel’s in Nelson, Tasman Bay Backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing