We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise! Loved it !”
Review of Marlin Motel

Marlin Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlin Motel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A nice surprise! Loved it !”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We drove in, without reservations because we were taking the ferry in the morning. The host was so friendly, the room was large, equipped with kitchen facilities, DVD player and clean bathroom. The owner had a selection of DVD's that we could borrow for free. He also made a great recommendation for a Thai Restaurant that was within walking distance and delicious.

The location was great, easy access from the highway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spunky022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here just for 1 night, before taking the ferry to cross from the South Island to the Norh Island.
Picton is quite small (I imagined it would be bigger because of its harbour) and so it is in general a quite and laid back place. This motel is not an exception because it was also quite and laid back. I don't remember it to be as modern and renovated as other places we had been but the overall impression was positive and satisfactory. The unit we had had all necessary to have a good stay, and the owners were also nice, friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, no issues at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Can be summed up in one word - dreadful!

We never got past the check-in : we had rung and rung at reception with no response, and wandered round to try and find someone to no avail. After 20 minutes, the proprietor eventually appeared, and when we said we had been ringing, he got uppity and said that we should have pressed harder on the bell, but of course we had heard it ringing! He then tried to tell us he had only suites left at an exorbitant price, and it was a thoroughly miserable experience (as he was). We decided we didn't want to stay at such a hopeless place, and left.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Picton hotels

SW England
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

I found the owners very friendly and helpful. I stayed here twice in April 2007 - at start and end of my South Island tour. The rooms I had were very well laid out, well equipped and clean.

I ordered a breakfast to be delivered to my room. It arrived bang on time, piping hot and of superb quality and quantity.

I would definately use this motel again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia/UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

Where do we start:

Nets hanging off the window.
Dingy linen/towels.
No soap in the bathroom.
No wardrobe at all.
No where to sit inside the room.
Dingy kitchen equipment.
Curled up lino on kitchen and bathroom floors which was dangerous.

We could go on forever but this has to be the worst place we have ever stayed in. This motel has a 3.5 star rating which is a joke for what you are confronted with.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness, dark, dingy
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid this motel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skybluearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.4 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Motel

Property: Marlin Motel
Address: 33 Devon Street, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marlin Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing