We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Aldan Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldan Lodge Motel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Great location for exploring the sounds and Marlborough area. It's easy walking distance to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and bars. The service was outstanding and the owners were more than helpful in arranging wine tours, boating tours and other activities. Our room was recently renovated, modern, and exceptionally clean with full kitchen facilities. We would definitely stay at the Aldan Lodge Motel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23EagleRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldanlodge, Owner at Aldan Lodge Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thrilled you enjoyed our hospitality, we look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.
Cheers
Heather & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
56
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We, too, picked the Aldan out of Jason's, and couldn't have been more pleased. Yes, it's a chain - but it's a chain with friendly owners who gave us great advice about exploring the area. They also sent on some articles we'd left behind, and did so with grace.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room with a king bed and sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyR-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

The bedroom was inadequate, very small, did not enjoy our stay. It was clean, good location but typical chain motel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

full kitchen with very clean facilities and friendly helpful owners. Lots of little pluses to this hotel, new flat screen TV with DVD player and free new movies to check out at main desk, free internet and on site laundry. More affordable than the 3 hotels that are on that block.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Good value, close to town and helpful owners. Picton is a small town and you can walk everywhere. We parked our car and enjoyed walking the area. Owners helpful with bookings etc. Good value

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Put simply, the Aldan Lodge was good value for money, refurbished rooms, great selection of DVD's, wonderful greeting from a very nice man, wireless internet (hard to come by in NZ) Thanks Aldan Lodge we would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeffnDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
302 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

From the street Aldan Lodge looks rather dated, but the units have been refurbished. Unfortunately we found ourselves in a pokey downstairs room directly underneath the office and with hardly any natural light. The cold tiled floor and stark lighting gave the room a less than welcoming feel, although the bed and kitchen facilities were OK. The TV reception here was appalling.

  • Liked — Recently refurbished
  • Disliked — Pokey room under the motel office
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
2.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
90 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldan Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldan Lodge Motel

Property: Aldan Lodge Motel
Address: 86 Wellington Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldan Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greg & Jacque invite you to enjoy the comforts of Aldan Lodge. Only a short walk to the main town centre and water front. Plenty of off street parking. Quiet location. We aim to provide the Home away from home feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aldan Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing