We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$42
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Agoda.com
$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
97
79
41
16
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
97
79
41
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night queen charlotte track spa pool private room well equipped kitchen hostels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 240 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Some things great, some things not. I stayed in one of the double rooms up a small flight of stairs away from the main property. The staff were really friendly, and I was very grateful to the kind staff member who dropped me at the bus terminal so early on a Saturday morning.

The room was clean, but the bed and pillows very soft. This place is rough around the edges, despite the owners' efforts to make it cosy. It was ok for a one night stay but expensive for what it is.

Room tip: Definitely not great for disabled travellers.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMozFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile

The 8 bed dorm felt very squeezed - there wasn't really any room to put your bag when it was full. The room being called "the swamp" felt quite appropriate, as I got bitten all over for the two nights I stayed there, although I know this was largely due to the door being left open for a while on the first night.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the lounge/kitchen areas had everything you need.

Picton in itself is quite quiet apart from all the ferries in an out, so there isn't much to do in the town itself. Equally the hostel was very quiet, and didn't have any events/activities on, which I felt would have helped provide a community feel, and give people something to do if they wanted to.

Date of stay: February 2017
Thank spe_eddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Friend stayed in this hostel and got her bag stolen out of the room. Door was locked and someone was asleep while bag was stolen. The staff were not very helpful with the situation. Avoid. Overall bad stay and security around the place is obviously very poor

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank bruce1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017

You can tell by looking at details if owners care or just don't. We've stayed at 4 different YHA's on the South Island and this one was the worst. It seemed clean enough, but when we found that our blankets had holes the size of fists, the curtain was half ripped of its fasteners, the showers not working in our block, no cups or water cooker in the kitchen, a sofa with a broken seat in the common area, no efficient lighting or markings to find your way in the dark to the entrance at the back of the house, after the main door was locked, we wondered how much effort it would take to get those things sorted.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miiensb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile

Awesome hostel! Warm and cosy atmosphete. Not expensive. The free spa is perfekt for relaxing after a long day of tramping. Nice chillout area and free WiFi. There is a hamhock outside as well as a well equiped bbq place.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Tau3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews