We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old but nice”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a 6 bed female dorm. Close to isite, ferry terminal and city centre. Everything is very old fashioned and tired but it's got its charme and it's clean. Good communal areas and kitchen. They even pick you up from the ferry if needed. Would def stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    67
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
51
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My review is only based on a quick 1-night stay on my way back to the North Island. As I had previously stayed in Picton (at another hostel), I knew what I wanted to do in town for my brief stopover and didn't spend too much time at the hostel.

The main reason I chose it was location. Perfectly situated for town and for my ferry in the morning, being just 10 minutes walk from the ferry terminal.

The hostel is an interesting and quaint collection of rooms and although my 4-bed dorm was perfectly fine, the mattress could do with replacing as I could feel the springs.

Everything else was pretty much OK though in some areas the place could really do with a tidy up and a clean up. For example there was something on the floor of one of the toilets which looked pretty gross and I don't even want to guess what it was.

If this hostel got a make-over it was likely be top class.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julieb2007
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

What a gorgeous little find! Perfectly suited to the gorgeous town of Picton. Fab location only few mins walk to harbour front and supermarket. Rooms were clean and tidy, showers and kitchen are good and has a hot tub!!! (which is very clean :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Housed in an old - erm, well, yes: villa, this backpackers is a quirky and welcome retreat from overcrowded and/or party-heavy hostels catering to mostly under-twenties. With big charming outdoor-areas (including a trea house and barbecue!), a great mix of guests anywhere between 6 months and 70 years of age, lots of cozy corners, free wifi, a great book-exchange and spacious dorms, the Villa hit the nerve for me.
The outside patio was great for having a local glass of wine with fellow travellers and the small, yet well-maintained kitchen area made it easy to meet others. Quiet was enforced well on the premises after 10pm.
Overall cleanliness was maintained well by the lovely staff, but keep in mind this is a place with a lot of history (and thus, dusty carpets, old teddy-bears, yellowed lamp-shades and the likes), thus maybe not suited for guests with severe dust allergies. It makes for a lovely atmosphere, though!

Room Tip: I staid in rooms 1 and 6 (6-bed dorms). Both were well away from the outdoor patio and probably a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night in a 10 bed dorm to save some cash, and I'm glad we stayed only one night. It was a cute updated site however we found some things quite annoying. The main gathering spot outside became a smokers pit, and as a result the smoke wafted into our room just in time for bed. Bathroom floors became lakes as there was nothing to stop the water going everywhere. The kitchen was extremely cramped and was lacking mugs and cups (or they had been hoarded in people's rooms). We both also found that guests at the time didn't really clean up after themselves properly. They would either leave the counters dirty, dishes still wet or have the dishes still encrusted with food. Gross.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cetacean_orcinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed there for a night in one of the twin rooms upstairs. Extremely homey atmosphere, nice clean room, small but good bathroom. Nice patio with a view to a garden, perfect for people who wants to stay away from crowded backpackers and relax for a reasonable price. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I loved the atmosphere of this hostel.

My partner and I stayed in a quaint private room on the ground floor. The room was really large, had a huge bay window, a sink, television, and heater. It felt like I was staying in my grandmothers house (and I mean that in a totally loving, good way!)

The staff were really friendly, and knowledgeable.

The common rooms were warm, inviting, and stocked with great books and information.

The kitchen was huge, and in the evenings we were treated to apple crumble.

Outside there was a hot tub.

I'd definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a restful night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.1 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Picton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Backpackers Lodge

Property: The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Address: 34 Auckland Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Villa Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Villa Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing