We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
91
74
38
16
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
74
38
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree apple crumblehot tubtree housethe kitchenfree wifibed dormqueen charlotte trackferry terminalone nightliving spaceshort walking distancewifi worked wellextra blanketsbathrooms were cleannew zealandstay there againfriendly atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 226 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I absolutely adored this hostel! The Villa is quaint and charming with fantastic, large dorms. Free limited wifi, free spa, free breakfast, free tea and coffee and free apple crumble and ice cream! Located next to THE best bakery in the world. Perfect base for exploring picturesque Picton.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had quite a bad start in picton and stayed in two other horrible hostels in picton before I found this one. It's a really nice and friendly atmosphere with friendly staff and owner.
The kitchen is clean with a big fridge and everything you need. The diningroom and community room are cosy and I felt welcome from the first minute.
The beds are comfortable and my 6 share room was quite big with a sink inside.
A nice surprise was the free apple crumble with ice cream at night and free breakfast in the morning. A 100mb Internet were included too.
I would stay there again and can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 368Marie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here in May 2013 for a couple of days.

Lovely, quaint backpackers with free WiFi( I think it was 100MB per day) in the middle of Picton. It's about 4-5 minutes away from the Interislander Ferry Terminal and about 1-2 minutes to the Picton town centre.

The villa itself is pretty colorful... everytime you enter there's something new to see and to explore. There were lots of brochures, maps and information about everything concerning the Queen Charlotte Track, Abel Tasman and the Sounds on hand, and for all other questions there was always either Rob or Katrin around to help out.

Many thanks again to those two for helping me with booking my Queen Charlotte Track experience and answering all my questions. I had a blast! (and a few blisters...)

I stayed in a 6 share dorm room with 3 other girls and the room was nice, clean and cozy. The blankets and linens were provided. The beds were comfy and thankfully not squeaky at all. On some night in autumn it got a little bit cold, but the heaters were there and/ or you could ask for another blanket.

The bathrooms were ok, altough it sometimes it takes awhile until the water gets hot (probably due to many people showering at the same time). If you ask nicely, they will provide towels as well.
The hot tub is pretty nice, especially after doing the Queen Charlotte Track or one of the other smaller Picton walks.

The kitchen and the dining room were clean and were always well stocked with free spices, tea and coffee while I was there. Rob and his crew also providided free breakfast (toast and spread) for us every morning.

Now on to the best part: Hot apple crumble with ice cream every evening... hmmm, yummy!
i think they only serve the cumble in autumn / winter, so I was quite lucky (and happy) to be here at the right time. :)

A close second place goes to Milly, the hostel dog, who's just too cute (and hungry looking(although we were reassured that she's well fed)) for words!!

Thanks again Rob and Katrin and all the best from one of those bloody Germans! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllyBluNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Good, well equipped and clean backpackers. Kitchen is clean and has free tea coffee and spices to use.

Facilities include: 100mb free wifi a day, hot tub, pool table and sky TV lounge.

Free apple pie in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Close to highstreet.

$69 for double private with shared bathroom. TV in room. Only complaint is a little cold in the evening but heaters and hot water bottles are available for free.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

An odd assortment of buildings on a small site which means that you are always close up and personal with just about everybody. For the number of people it can accommodate, the kitchen and dining room are way too small. We had an ensuite room which was fine but the dorm rooms looked cramped. It's handily located not far from the ferry terminals and the Queen Charlotte track boats, provides a shuttle bus to them.

Fine for a night or two but no longer than that. Very popular so booking is recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaumaris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews