We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont go anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
palmerston north
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“dont go anywhere else!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We could not get into the motel itself and so we stayed in the holiday apartment across the road (owned by Bay Vista). What a fantastic spot. It was really a two bedroomed house and it had absolutely everything that we needed and more besides. The managers were fantastic and so helpful and chatty and 'real'. I slept like a log and my husband complained because it was TOO quiet and he could hear his own heart beating (such a silly sausage!). This was surprisingly quiet though considering it is right on the road. We would definitely recommend this to our friends and all other readers of trip advisor. Note: If you have a family or are two couples travelling together then this holiday apartment is very good value for the money at 175 per night in the peak season.!!!! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    67
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
133
192
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to be upgraded to a two bedroom unit which was spacious but could not fault this motel for its location, with superb views down the bay, facilities, which while not luxurious were all clean and serviceable, and service which was excellent, including an offer to iron our clothes we had just washed in the on-site laundry!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We sadly only stayed here one night after our ferry crossing and before heading south but our accommodation was very clean and comfortable and the lady managing the property could not have been more helpful or pleasant. She met us at the ferry, waited for us to do a little shopping and ran us to the car rental company in the morning. We certainly plan to return and stay a lot longer. The view and tranquility from each unit is very special.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Bay Vista Waterfront's website really doesn't do this motel credit.
We stayed in a 2 bed unit and had wonderful uninterrupted views down to the Sounds and the wildlife from a private terrace.
The accommodation is comfortable, practical, clean and quiet.
The owners are awesome! So friendly, cheerful and helpful without being intrusive. They even offered to peg out my laundry so we could go out and forget about it. Laundry $2 to wash and dry by the way.
Picton is a 10 minute drive away to access restaurants, bars and ferries. There are various car parking options in Picton for the day near the harbour which are not expensive.
We did a Cougar Line trip from Picton to the Bay of Many Coves to have lunch which was excellent. It included a return boat trip, selection of lunch mains and a slice which were all very good. Best fries we have had in NZ!
There are also some opportunities to eat out nearer to the Bay Vista. If you walk down to the Waikawa Marina there are two restaurants. Opening times seem to be unpredictable but if you take your room key you will get a discount.
One tip, apply the insect repellent as the sand flies take no prisoners!

Room Tip: A two bed gives uninterrupted views of the Sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenDayFanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights, the units are scattered around, ours was one min drive from reception. It was very close to the track that goes to the snout and then Picton.
New flat with all the amenities for washing and cooking.
Newly furnished and functioning. Toiletries also provided.
On the minus side, the wifi wasn't working this far from reception, and there's no air con.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We rented a small holiday house across the street from the Bay Vista Waterfront Motel. It was a very nice two bedroom (although second bedroom had two twin beds - not appropriate for a second couple) home. Great kitchen, washing facilities, within walking distance to restaurants in the Marina.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLynne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We rented the 4 bedroom house available from this fabulous hotel. The house is beautiful with a great view, and everything you could ever need for your holiday.

Lillian is the nicest person in the world, and simply could not do enough to make our stay the best ever.

The house is within walking distance of a great restaurant and a short drive to Picton township.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
2.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
7.8 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
617 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
18.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Vista Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Property: Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Address: 303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Vista Waterfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular waterfront location and 500mb Free Wifi. All 7 motel units at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel are situated on the waters edge in Picton's beautiful Waikawa Bay, only 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Set in 2 acres of park like grounds these 7 ground floor units are all self contained with sky TV and stunning views of the Bay and Waikawa Marina. Take a short 7 minute stroll over to the restaurants/cafes located at the marina or down to the swimming beach and boat launching ramp. Wake up to the sound of the native birds and enjoy a coffee on your private patio in the sun. Relax in peace and quiet away from all road noise. As well, we have available off site a selection of 2,3,& 4 bedroom spacious holiday homes for those who wish to spread out and enjoy your own private space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bay Vista Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing