We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stuning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Charlotte Sound

Queen Charlotte Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.84*
and up
Full Day Queen Charlotte Kayak and Walking Tour from Picton
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
628 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Stuning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wonderful scenery...well worth a trip out...there are a number of different trips from the harbour including bird watching

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    45
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
223 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Two night cruise aboard Affinity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hubby and I wanted an easier, less physical way to see beautiful Queen Charlotte Sound and some of the Marlborough Sound area than tramping/camping it. We were very pleased to find a 2-night scalloping cruise aboard Affinity. Yes, we did numerous dredges for scallops, helped bring them aboard, sorted them, sized them, cleaned them, cooked them and ate them down. Yum!

We explored the many coves in the area including famous Ship's Cove where Captain Cook came ashore 6 times during his years exploring New Zealand. We also went ashore at Motuara Island Preserve; beautiful scenery (though it's an uphill hike all the way) and some wonderful endemic birds.

While not a luxury cruise, it was very comfortable, we met the nicest people and we didn't have to do the cooking or cleaning up. Breakfast and lunch were simple self-serve. There were hot muffins or scones for morning and afternoon tea. We had salmon for dinner one night and grilled steak for dinner the next. Scallops both nights! Check it out! http://www.affinitycruises.co.nz/

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NNMinAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Queen Charlotte Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

A beautiful waterway at the northern tip of the South Island. Whilst catching the ferry between Wellington and Picton I had the privilege of seeing huge pods of dolphins and the beautiful scenery of the Queen Charlotte Sound. A great place for kayaking, trekking and a good entry point to the Marlborough Valley.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aaron_B_SydneyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fab track and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We did it to the snout and back to Picton, you're rewarded with awesome views of the sound. On a good day it's even better as the colours of greenery and blue water are just awesome.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,417 reviews
441 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,113 helpful votes
“Excellent but queasy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I did this by car from Picton, and the 20 km drive is among the most scenic I have done, with some of the most winding road ever. There is no straight stretch in the entire 20 km drive. That can make you queasy, if you are prone to motion sickness. Take it easy, drink lots of water, avoid the sun, and stop as often as you can. You will rewarded with some of the best vistas. Reminded me of Alaska.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Charlotte Sound also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Queen Charlotte Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing