We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous and we saw dolphins too!”

Queen Charlotte Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.90*
and up
Full Day Queen Charlotte Kayak and Walking Tour from Picton
More Info
$178.36*
and up
Full-Day Marlborough Catamaran Cruise with Wine Tour and Lunch
More Info
$96.61*
and up
Full-Day Guided Sea Kayak Trip from Picton
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous and we saw dolphins too!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a fab way to see the wonderful Marlborough Sounds ..our captain was informative and fun and we were delighted to see wild dolphins both on the way out and return leg ... Highly recommend

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Lau76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    49
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

What an amazing sight as you turn into this on the ferry. It was awe inspiringly beautiful. The water was smooth. It is magnificent. We stayed in Picton and went on a walk along one of the ridges in beautiful sunshine and sat at looked at the view for ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank norirelib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It's so so pretty. It was our first taste of the south island. We couldn't spend much time there but we could easily book another holiday just in that area. I could imagine bringing kids there for a holiday too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Picton Mail boat Run (Wednesday)”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great afternoon out. Plenty to see. You need warm clothing for the late afternoon as it does get quite cold after the sun goes down. Fascinating to see where the people live in the sounds. A good and interesting commentary gives lots of useful insights. Fully recommended. We chose the Picton based run rather than one from Havelock because it is 4 to 5hrs rather than 7. I think that was a good choice as 7 hours would have been too long - the seat was becoming quite hard after 4 hours!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank spock999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elanora Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Picton Mail Boat Run”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon on the mail boat run. The skipper was very entertaining with background knowledge about the locals. The scenery was amazing and to think Captain Cook saw almost the exact same place as we did was amazing. Great value.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Charlotte Sound also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Queen Charlotte Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing