We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suggestions”
Review of Marlborough Sounds

Marlborough Sounds
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.44*
and up
Half-Day Dolphin Eco-Tour from Picton
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Suggestions”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Travelled from South to North Island staying overnight sometimes more in motels. If you have time it's well worth stopping a few days with Blenheim as your base which is only a short drive away from the ferry at Picton. It's also worth staying a Picton because this is a lovely place with fantastic views. Would recommend staying at Harbour View, best in town.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank landoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    52
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery a must do”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Took a day trip to Furneaux Lodge via the sound. Stopped at several locations before we arrived. Good narrative as we went along and lots of information about the sound. Stopped to view a pod of dolphins. Timings were spot on and we had a great day out. There a various combination of walks and visits any would be fine but make sure you check the route and timings before setting off. Well worth the ferry money especially as we got a discounted lunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“mail boat trip”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great day out on the water visiting all the small inlets to deliver their mail (plus biscuits for the dogs!) We had brilliant weather and spent all day on deck watching the fabulous scenery. lovely way to spend a day

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiechris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery and great commentary by Jason.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We did the mail run cruise on the Queen Charlotte Sound. Great scenery but the highlight was the commentary from Jason. Excellent....knows his history and obviously loves his heritage. Thoroughly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank katiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Spectacularly pretty. We did a short walk along the Queen Charlotte track to Furneaux Lodge. It is idyllic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlborough Sounds also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Marlborough Sounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing