We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picton- pretty as a picture”
Review of Marlborough Sounds

Marlborough Sounds
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.82*
and up
Half-Day Dolphin Viewing Eco-Tour from Picton
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Passaic, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Picton- pretty as a picture”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a beautiful place to see and drive though we scuba dived in Picton, with a really nice guy. who was super nice and friendly. There are so many great things in NZ it was really hard to pick which places we wanted to see, in the end we happened to drive though this area and it was amazingly beautiful. Would advise to drive though here and see as much as you can if you have extra time, but would not put this on the top of my list although I totally enjoyed everything about it.
cheers hope you have a great time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank souler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    53
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautiful part of NZ a most see for all travellers. Excellent walks and scenery. Get out on the water and explore all the bays. It's so peaceful and tranquil

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best part of New Zealand”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You have to see it. And you will net a waterproof jacket. It is wonderful, the scenery it is so quiet and the great mountains around makes you loose your words. It is amazing and it was the best I have seen on this trip. I booked it in advance and that was good. You will need a good camera and loads of sim cards to make loads of pictures. I will go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 259Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Day of Magic”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The history lesson by Richard from Cougar cruises, the dolphins and seals. The bird life. Lunch at Furneaux Lodge was excellent. Walk to the waterfall. Strolling around the Lodge. The Sounds themselves were awsome. The beautiful sunny day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A must for every traveller of the South Island, the scenery is breathtaking, make sure you take a camera.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 20GoldenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlborough Sounds also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Marlborough Sounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing