We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular !”
Review of Marlborough Sounds

Marlborough Sounds
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.57*
and up
Half-Day Dolphin Viewing Eco-Tour from Picton
More Info
$122.62*
and up
Half-Day Dolphin Eco-Tour from Picton
More Info
$100.33*
and up
Marlborough Sounds Greenshell Mussel Tasting Cruise from Havelock
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular !”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The only way to begin a trip to NZ's stunningly beautiful South Island - get out on deck if you're coming in by ferry from Wellington

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    54
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful place”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

went on a 4 hr mail run cruise. captain matts commentary was fantastic. saw dolphins and beautiful scenery. very enjoyable. well worth doing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dannybettyrachiameli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Take the mail boat for a 4 hour tour! You will not believe what you will see! Some of the most gorgeous scenery in the world!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Krups77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Many people zip through Picton either hopping on or off the ferry, but this is a must. I did it on a Saturday, when the route is slightly longer, and it was great (even though it was raining). Complimentary tea/coffee on the boat, and the postie gives some commentary too.

People waiting for their mail and groceries, dolphins swimming in the wash of the boat... A great (and cheap) experience. Go for it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely scenery and pace”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We recently spent 4 days in Picton and the Marlborough Sounds area, and had a wonderful time. We went initially to swim with dolphins, but unfortunately, the dolphins were all elsewhere. The tour company, "Dolphin Watch Nature Tours," gave us a voucher to join another swim, and we did so, about 3 weeks later. That time, although we weren't able to swim with dolphins, we were able to see a pod of about 10 Hector's Dolphins. They are wonderful - small (3'), with a rounded dorsal fin, and very playful. It was thrilling to see them. The crew aboard both trips was extremely well-versed in natural history, dolphin information, etc., and very friendly and helpful. We also hiked out The Snout one day, and enjoyed being in the 'bush.' At the end of the hike, we went onto the beach, and found some very large green mussel shells, as well as some very large and colorful beach glass. We left the mussels alone. Nice hike through the bush, some incredible bird calls sang out along the way - but those birds are really, really hard to identify. They blend in with the trees and branches so well!! All in all, this is a lovely part of NZ, and definitely worth spending some time in. We talked to several people who had done the Queen Charlotte track, and they said it was lovely.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlborough Sounds also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Marlborough Sounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing