We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spring rolls”
Review of Kiwi Takeaways

Kiwi Takeaways
Ranked #21 of 41 Restaurants in Picton
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
424 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Great spring rolls”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I dont normally like Fish and chips. Too greasy. But we felt like a burger, fish and some chips so tried this place. It was very good. Hot, not too greasy and decent size pieces of fish. It is a takeaway and there isnt really seating inside but we took them back to our unit and enjoyed.
there is a liquor store just down the road to get a nice drink to accompany.
this is in Wellington street and the sign outside just says "fish and chips"

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in Picton”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

As regular visitors to Picton over the past few years we have tried all of the fish and chip shops in town and Waikawa and have decided that this one is the best. As noted the fish prices aren't cheap, but then nor are the other outlets! This probably because Picton is a tourist town. It is worth paying a bit extra for other than shark (disguised as normal in NZ by an obscure name which varies from shop to shop) or Hoki. Chips are good and the shop is clean. Expect a wait though as they get a lot of phone orders from locals and there is normally a queue.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Contention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very popular even with the locals”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Popular place. The mussels are very juicy and nice. great to buy and wat on the waterfront. be prepare to wait as I see long queue everyday. We had blue cod which was fresh.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenjen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikawa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great food, my favourite is the battered blue cod well worth paying extra for it. Also love the battered oysters. The chip portions are really good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Better than any of the fish and chip shops in Blenheim, nice tarakihi although service this time wasn't as good as usual and portions were slightly smaller than what we have had previously.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snowden91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwi Takeaways also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Kiwi Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing