We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful towards planning my trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cougar Line

Cougar Line
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Cougar Line offers scheduled daily tours from Picton to the Queen Charlotte Sound and the Queen Charlotte Track. We are the leading water transportation company in the Marlborough Sounds and operate 364 days. 3hr Sounds Delivery Cruises, Eco cruises, Cruise and Walk day trips, Cruise and lunch. These are must do activities for visitors of all ages wishing to explore the beautiful Marlborough region.Free daily luggage transfers for all Queen Charlotte Track walkers and bikers.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Helpful towards planning my trip”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Cougarline staff were really friendly and helpful in assisting and offering me advice when planning our trip and boat transfers around the various bays in Queen Charlotte Sound. They were very responsive on email and even better in person. The bag transfer service was really reliable. Our trip went really well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    40
    12
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Bay of Many Coves”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Part of the appeal of this area is they run on their own time. Don't expect to board exactly at the time stated in your booking. On the day we were booked on there was a wedding to unpack from the boat. Remember this is the main way of moving things around the Sounds.
Once aboard we had a lovely guided tour to our destination for lunch. Others were being dropped off to walk the Queen Charlotte track and some were there to have a look at the sounds.
Lunch was nice and it was great to be treated as royalty from being helped from the boat to the jetty. I would have liked to have seen more seafood available on our lunch menu is my only gripe. The waitress knew her wines and matched our preferred tasting styles to perfection. We were also allowed to feed the local spotties and blue cod after lunch.
For an afternoon of relaxation give this a try.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good trip to the Bay of many Coves”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

What's not to like? Relaxed and efficient like the rest of NZ. Went to Bay of Many Coves from Picton.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
154 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Brilliant Marlborough Sounds Cruise”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

On a terrific day we took the early morning Sounds Cruise and it was just brilliant - a service delivery of passengers and goods into several small bays and landings around the Sounds, and right out to Motuara Island. Captain Fred was extremely friendly and informative. The scenery is magnificent and the atmosphere the same. It was briliant value for a three hour trip, and Marion a day later then let us know we had overpaid and fixed that for us. Wonderful service, Cougar, you are the best

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank brians1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant way to travel in the Queen Charlotte Sounds.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We made several changes to our initial itinerary, Cougar line were responsive and nothing was a hassle for them. Great customer service!! Part of our group walked the full track the other part of the group water ferried from cove to cove meaning all our family could participate in the experience. One of the group walked 2 sections which altered the original plan for pick ups and drop offs but no problem to Cougar. Thank you for making our travel smooth.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GwendaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cougar Line also viewed

 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Cougar Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing