We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful setting, friendly host & magnificent view!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whatamonga Homestay
Ranked #8 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting, friendly host & magnificent view!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Colette, the host, is lovely and friendly. Got a lot of advices from her and her family extensive local knowledge about the restaurants, attractions and wineries. The unit was clean, tidy and decorated. The view from the unit, what can I say, it was just MAGNIFICENT. We literally just sat back and soaking up the view for hours. The breakfast was very tasty and lot of choices, homemade scones and pancakes, cereals and muesli, toasts, fruits etc. We will definitely go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonynkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for sending us your fantastic panorama photos. We hope to load them on to our web site www.whsl.co.nz very soon.
It was wonderful to meet you both and to celebrate your recent engagement.
We look forward to welcoming your both back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

If you want peace and quiet with a wonderful view then this is the place to stay. Completely private, well set up unit that was clean and very comfortable. No TV but why would you want one in a setting like this? Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for so much for your review and for taking the time to include a photo of the view from your unit. It is a fantastic photo and really captures the spectacular colours and landscape of the Bay. It is a view you can never get tired from looking at.
We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and Colette looks forwarding to welcoming you back to Whatamonga Homestay in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Surely this is the best place to stay in Picton. Set on the waters edge with a sweeping view of the Queen Charlotte Sound, we were blown away by Whatamonga Homestay. Firstly Colette is just so lovely, helpful, friendly, warm and good company. We really enjoyed our chats with her over the tasty breakfasts (fresh warm croissants just melted in the mouth). We arrived later than planned (at 10pm) due to various hiccups in our travels, but she stayed up and made us fresh sandwiches, along with cake. That was truly welcome after the long journey from London! She also gave us loads of extra food - fruit, cereal bars, biscuits, bottles of water, for our bike ride on Queen Charlotte Track the next day, which again was very generous and much appreciated. In our fridge she had put chocolates, fruits and a bottle of delicious Marlborough wine which went down very well after a long day on the track. After our stay she gave us useful advice and tips for our onward journey. You just don't get this kind of service in a hotel or even other B&B's, and we found Colette went above and beyond expectation. This was one of my favourite places to stay.

The room was gorgeous too, very spacious, clean, tastefully decorated, with floor to ceiling windows through which one could admire the sounds. It was so peaceful and tranquil, since it is not in the town centre, but only about a 10 minute drive from there. We were also in for a real treat, as whilst we were eating breakfast, we saw a school of dolphins out through the window, jumping gracefully in and out of the water. They were herding the fish, helping the gannets circling above with their feed. It was magical. We would recommend this place to anyone in an instant, and found it very reasonably priced for such a high quality establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonTraveldelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and were able to extend your stay so you could see all that Whatamonga Homestay has to offer. Thanks for letting us know you were on your honeymoon, so we could provide you with a few extra treats and truly welcome you to our special place in New Zealand. We are thrilled you got the chance to see the dolphins. Aren't they magnificent!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very clean and tidy room with a magnificent outlook in which you can sit back and watch the world go by.Collete is Wonderful Host with very good local knowledge of attractions, wineries and restaurants and takes the time to understand what sort of stay your are looking for then point you in the right direction.Breakfast is well organised ,plentiful and very relaxing.The grounds and garden are
quite lovely with lots of privacy and native Birds in abundance.Though its just out of Picton
the drive is enjoyable and the view makes it all worthwhile.We will certainly stay at Whatamonga again next time we visit the Marlborough region.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiger69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We are thrilled your had an enjoyable stay. Colette looks forwarding to welcoming you back to Whatamonga Homestay in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our first time on South Island and we made the perfect choice. Colette is a wonderful host, her breakfasts are everything you could want and the view is perfection. We used this location to explore some of the North part of South Island including Picton, Havelock, Blenheim and the wineries of Marlborough.
Yes it's a winding road and the parking is tight but neither is an issue and since there isn't much traffic on the road it's really quiet.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in the first chalet and it met all our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milesriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for posting the yacht race photo. It is always so amazing to see how the scene from your unit/deck can change thoughout the day. We are thrilled you found Whatamonga Homestay a great location to undertaken your various Marlborough excursions from. Colette looks forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We loved our visit to Whatamonga Homestay! It was a short drive on a curvy road (what other kind of road is there in NZ?) to get there, which made it easy to head to town for dinner or to visit the Queen Charlotte Track. We were at the end of a fantastic but fatiguing 3 weeks in NZ, so we decided, why drive to the Track to find a view, when we had the same spectacular view of the Marlborough Sounds right from our deck? We stayed in one of the 2 cottages with our own deck and small kitchenette, all very clean and tastefully decorated. We had lots of privacy with the hillsides and landscaping all around and only the next cottage door for a neighbor. It was quiet! When we did want company or directions for things to do, Colette was a wonderful host. We really enjoyed our visits over breakfast, with the same fantastic views. She gave us great ideas for wineries to visit in Blenheim, which as only a half hour drive away over good roads. And what a place to come back to, and have a glass of wine on the deck looking over the water! Plus we made the short climb down to the water and used the kayaks for a paddle on the very calm waters.

Parking was fine and very convenient but I agree with other reviewers that it was a little tricky getting out but once you learned the trick it was not a problem. The cottage was roomy until we pulled the hide-a-bed out, and then it was cozy but not cramped.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnS_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Whatamonga Homestay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our tranquil setting, our individual cottages with panorama views of the bay and took up the opportunity to explore the water from our kayaks. Your 2 night stay gave you a great opportunity to explore the local area, but we are sure there is more that the Marlborough Sounds can offer you. We would be delighted if you would visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the units for 2 nights and loved it! The location is excellent having stunning views and peaceful and private surroundings - simply wonderful!!! It is well worth the 10 minute drive from Picton to stay in such a beautiful place, a show case of New Zealand scenery at its best.

Colette is an excellent host and very knowledgeable about the area and what it has to offer.

The unit we stayed in was spacious, clean and well appointed with a view from the deck over the sounds. The walk down through the gardens to the water listening to the native birds made this extra special

If you are planning to visit the Marlborough Sounds we recommend the Whatamonga bed and breakfast homestay to all. We look forward to visiting again soon - actually we wish we could live there!

Room Tip: The unit we stayed in had a comfortable queen size bed and a sofa bed which was great for our daught...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discerning_Kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Whatamonga Homestay. It was a pleasure to be your hosts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
1.7 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.3 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
3.8 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
8.0 mi away
Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 22 in Picton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whatamonga Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whatamonga Homestay

Property: Whatamonga Homestay
Address: 425 Port Underwood Road, Picton 7281, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatamonga Home Stay is a unique bed and breakfast experience located in the Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand. Whatamonga was purpose-built to provide two separate guest apartments and two guestrooms with private entrance on the ground floor of the main house. All offer private sunny decks overlooking the picturesque waters of the Sounds.Set in idyllic bush with panoramic views over Whatamonga Bay and Queen Charlotte Sound, the accommodation offers seclusion and direct access to the beach,yet Picton is only 9 kilometres drive away. Water activities abound, including swimming at the beach, fishing from the jetty, taking the dinghy or kayaks out in the bay, visiting the salmon and mussel farms, or fishing charters.Meals are served in the house, apartments, rooms, or alfresco on the deck.Whatamonga Homestay enjoys a Five Star TripAdvisor rating. See more details at dub dub dub whsl.co.nz ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing