We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning B&B Homestay close to Picton”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whatamonga Homestay
Ranked #7 of 23 Picton B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the units for 2 nights and loved it! The location is excellent having stunning views and peaceful and private surroundings - simply wonderful!!! It is well worth the 10 minute drive from Picton to stay in such a beautiful place, a show case of New Zealand scenery at its best.

Colette is an excellent host and very knowledgeable about the area and what it has to offer.

The unit we stayed in was spacious, clean and well appointed with a view from the deck over the sounds. The walk down through the gardens to the water listening to the native birds made this extra special

If you are planning to visit the Marlborough Sounds we recommend the Whatamonga bed and breakfast homestay to all. We look forward to visiting again soon - actually we wish we could live there!

Room Tip: The unit we stayed in had a comfortable queen size bed and a sofa bed which was great for our daught...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discerning_Kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Whatamonga Homestay. It was a pleasure to be your hosts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

The pictures you see on the website are an accurate representation of how lovely this place is. Truly beautiful views. We stayed in one of the individual units which were very comfortable with big windows and a deck overlooking the water. Parking was a bit tight, but the room was much more spacious than I expected and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and there were homebaked treats in the fridge to enjoy upon arrival. You feel very welcome at Whatamonga but still are able to enjoy your privacy. Colette is a friendly host. Excellent place for a homestay and a very nice area to explore. I quite enjoyed Picton and if you have a vehicle (this is a few kilometres outside of town) it's a good base for exploration.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are thrilled that you had such a enjoyable stay. Colette would really welcome the chance to host you again when you return to the Marlborough Sounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank gilles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasago9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
1.7 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.8 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
250 reviews
8 mi away
Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
4 mi away
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
13.6 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 3 in Havelock
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whatamonga Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whatamonga Homestay

Address: 425 Port Underwood Road, Picton 7281, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatamonga Home Stay is a unique bed and breakfast experience located in the Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand. Whatamonga was purpose-built to provide two separate guest apartments and two guestrooms with private entrance on the ground floor of the main house. All offer private sunny decks overlooking the picturesque waters of the Sounds.Set in idyllic bush with panoramic views over Whatamonga Bay and Queen Charlotte Sound, the accommodation offers seclusion and direct access to the beach,yet Picton is only 9 kilometres drive away. Water activities abound, including swimming at the beach, fishing from the jetty, taking the dinghy or kayaks out in the bay, visiting the salmon and mussel farms, or fishing charters.Meals are served in the house, apartments, rooms, or alfresco on the deck.Whatamonga Homestay enjoys a Five Star TripAdvisor rating. See more details at dub dub dub whsl.co.nz ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing