We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Cortado

Cafe Cortado
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Pizza, Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton marina. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Unfortunately there are very few restaurants opened at night, in Picton, during the winter months.
This restaurant was opened every night, even on the quiet ones and presented great sea food dishes at a very reasonable price.
We went on a Friday night, happy hour drinks are all $5 each, which i can assure you is a bargin in Picton. My wife and i had tappas which were to die for and they also had a reasonable singer / guitarist, who provided a very relaxing night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WAZZA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    237
    80
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glentunnel, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went here for an evening meal with 5 others.Quite upmarket and the food was in the upper price range.That said the meals were superbly cooked and presented.The ambience of the place was great and contributed to a great night!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
419 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went to this cafe for dinner. The wooden chairs on the concrete floor made quite a scraping sound when moved. I ordered lamb Wellington. It was nice, but not WOW. I felt it was a bit overpriced for the meal I got. The pastry on the lamb wellington was soft and not crispy. It does seem it was microwaved and the lamb nice, but not wow. My partner had pasta and said it was a bit lacking in flavour. The cafe did seem popular, but I wouldnt go back. A number of people were at the bar drinking and it was quite noisey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great food and the staff were great also made smaller meals for the kids which was great will be back next time we are in town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Transferring from Picton to Wellington, got a complementary drink voucher from Aquarium down the ferry terminal, nice gentlemen there recommended this place to me and saying food is wonderful. He is absolutely right! By the way, the Aquarium is a nice place to visit as well especially if you got stuck on your journey by ferry due to rough weather. They give you 1/2 discount for entrance. :)

Ordered the special of the day, plates of prawns, chicken breast, etc. with house wine Sauvigion Blanc, both is delightful to taste. And the Tiramisu was quite good too.

So many other things looking very interesting on the menu and their pizza looks really nice too. Would want to try again when have a chance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SicilyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cortado also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Cafe Cortado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing