We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seabreeze Cafe & Bar

Seabreeze Cafe & Bar
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Picton
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local NZ seafood and wines, beers with a nautical theme and piano bar with view to waterfront and Queen Charloote Sound
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped here for coffee a couple of times and also had lunch here during our 3 day stay in Picton. The food was very good and the location excellent, just across the road from the water and the park. The restaurant was very busy at lunch time but there was no delay in getting our meals. In any case, I was happy to sit and read my emails with the free wi-fi provided.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    171
    58
    28
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had breakfast here, but only once because it was really bad. I don't know how they can get scrambled eggs wrong, but they managed the driest most tasteless eggs I've ever paid for. And the toast was cold. Don't waste your money here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fussy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Expensive Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Four of us visited Seabreeze for breakfast while waiting for the ferry to Wellington. The meals took 45 minutes to arrive, the plates were cold, some food was not hot, and two tiny breakfast sausages cost $4 to add to an eggs benedict. The service was average (leaning across fellow diners to place plates in front of people is very discourteous), but the location and out door dining was pleasant. With other options in Picton, we would not return to this cafe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwisInCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best mussels in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Every trip we dine here and have never been disappointed. The mussels are the main thing for us so it is hard to comment on other items on the menu although we have had simple lunches there too and enjoyed them.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great mussels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We ate here numerous times during our stay due to their excellent thai mussels! The staff were very friendly especially Jules who was happy to let us sit up at the bar and watch the rugby while he went about his duties. This was a great addition to our trip - thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeeleRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seabreeze Cafe & Bar also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Seabreeze Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing