We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orgasmic dinner”

Seabreeze Cafe & Bar
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Local NZ seafood, wines and beers. A nautical theme and piano bar with view across the waterfront and Queen Charlotte Sound
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Orgasmic dinner”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Drove in from Blenheim on a dreary wet evening after travelling all day up the coast. Skies cleared and as we perused the menu outside Seabreeze cafe, a friendly server came out to announce the daily specials and encouraged us to enter. Inside, a very good pianist serenaded the diners. We ordered capsicum soup which was wonderful and the butterfish dish with potatoes in a lovely sauce was almost as good as the Japanese salmon dish. The food is sublime and the chef is simply amazing. You need to eat here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelVBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    194
    59
    30
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Sunday 6th Jan 2013. 1530 hrs. Hot sunny day in Picton. Locals and visitors everywhere. Drink needed. Obvious first stop is right across the road but, alas, CLOSED? Not a problem as was able to buy elsewhere but is this place serious? I won't ever go back even when they are open as their "closed for business attitude" tells me everything I need to know. Pity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Positive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seabreeze Cafe”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This cafe has friendly staff, good coffee and a view of the ferries coming and going. Their muffins are seriously good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThereseB572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Good!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was here for lunch and dinner this week, for lunch I had seafood chowder.. never had a seafood chowder like that,, amazing!!!!!!!!! 3 days later me and my friend came back for dinner, I had the prawn cocktail and risotto,,, my friend had the mussels... the Risotto was AMAZING!!! i know how a real Italian risotto taste like and this one was as good as... Great place, Great food, Great views, Hot chef!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well located but...”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

...the food is quite average and expensive for what you get... saying that the manager is very opened to the criticisms and does her best to accommodate and compensate if needed, which was extremely appreciated in our case after we complained about the poor quality risotto and its very bad value (VERY small quantity for $19.90). Surely a good place for a drink with a friendly and efficient service and to be fair the mussels were good (not cheap though for the quantity we got). With more attention to the food and better prices it could be a great place indeed... !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seabreeze Cafe & Bar also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Seabreeze Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing