We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachside Sunnyvale Motel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had given up all hope finding anywhere to stay in Picton after a gruelling journey when the kind lady at I-site found us this VERY reasonably priced accommodation.
It got better! When we arrived, our charming host served us( with the milk) a dish of the most delicious biscuits baked by his equally delightful wife! My husband thought he'd died and gone to heaven!
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bed very much so. Two good night's sleep after a restless two nights in Blenheim in a very much more expensive and noisy motel.
My husband's comment was when we looked round the place after we arrived: " Just like visiting your favourite granny"........true! AND the cute crocheted toiletroll cover and willow patterned crockery bore that out. Though we did not require it this time, the complete kitchen with all one needed, plus a proper (!) oven was appreciated as was the round homely kitchen table with a red check tablecloth.
If ever we are visiting NZ again, we shall stay here again, not least because of the beautiful position. Just wonderful!
Thank you for making our last days on the South Island so pleasant.
Those biscuits........!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank anna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 21 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed there for two nights and regret it. Booked online and were looking forward to our stay because of all the good comments on Tripadvisor. But when we saw our apartment we were shocked. Everything was so old and stunk. The unit was well equipped, but the TV had only the a couple of channels, internet was fee-based, the refridgerator and shower were dirty and the mattresses were so saggy. We had three different beds and we couldn't sleep in even one of them. Stayed awake nearly all night and had back pain on the next day. We were so glad when we left the place and that we stayed in a much better one for the next night. It was a little more expensive, but felt like heaven.
Somehing nice about the place: the owner was very friendly, but that's it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoteltester01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, Manager at Beachside Sunnyvale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Beachside Sunnyvale Motel.. I am sorry that your room did not meet your expectations.
You had booked a twin unit yet we could have easily changed this to a queen had you asked.

We do not advertise ourselves as a new Motel and our low rate reflects this. I presume that is why you booked the second night with us.

Our televisions have 15 channels.

The only thing you mentioned to me was about the shower and the new towels, We had washed them but some lint had come off on you. I replaced these immediately .

Our Motels are clean and well maintained .It is disappointing to read your version of the room and the staff feel terribly sorry about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've been coming here for over 12 years and expect to be returning for the same. Pleasant place to stay - recently updated their older style to a fresh new decor - well done chaps. Good clean rooms - with access to a lovely park (free gas barbeque there) and good fishing off the pier.
The staff seem friendly and hospitable - great to have time to chat. My two children enjoyed the playground across the road in the park and there is lots to explore for them.
Recommend you come here - the by-ways are the best . For the explorer the trip on around to Port Underwood from here is scenic and has plenty of secluded places to enjoy a place to picnic and camp. Hard to believe that whalers hunted in the sounds not so very long ago.

Room Tip: Room nearest the beach has more windows- spatious and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Clean, fresh and good value, hosts were welcoming, hospitable and friendly. We have stayed here several times since 2000, and will come again in December 2013 , and it has continuously improved. It is close to seaside/beach/jetties and amenities, and prices are low - very low compared to others in the region. Peaceful and calming environs - BTW Lee S's review falsely claims that nearby 5 star hotels have similar rates - untrue as there are no nearby 5 star hotels. Rooms are spacious and clean and have nice views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mei Yeen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a lovely place! Nice and quiet, with the most charming hosts. A lovely outlook over Waikawa Bay. The rooms have just been upgraded, and are very homely.Throughly recommended. Took out one of their kayaks for a paddle in the bay, very relaxing !

Room Tip: The room on the beachside is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

They've left the vinyl and carpet from the 1960's in the room. Couldn't sleep well from the stench coming from the rotting carpet.

Room looked freshly painted and comes with kitchenette and TV.

Owner very friendly and accommodating.

Nearby 5 star hotels have similar rates, check around first.

Inspection beforehand is a must.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, Manager at Beachside Sunnyvale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are disappointed to learn of your comments;
We checked the unit carefully after your comments but could find no fault or odor and the carpet is in fair condition.

if you had taken the time and spoken to our management or any of the staff, we are sure that they would have corrected the situation to ensure you enjoyed your stay in New Zealand.
Please book direct with us to get the best rate. Nearby Hotels on average charge at least 40% more than we charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been coming to this Motel for many years and it keeps getting better. The Motel has been upgraded and has a new large flatscreen T.V.
The owners are very friendly and helpful and the Motel has all the comforts and chattels a traveler would need. A peaceful and beautiful part of New Zealand.

Room Tip: Choose an off street Motel. This Motel, all the units have peaceful bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tsutomu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.6 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
262 reviews
2.6 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
2.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
2.8 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Sunnyvale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Sunnyvale Motel

Address: 384 Waikawa Road | Waikawa Bay, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Price Range: $84 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachside Sunnyvale Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Beachside Sunnyvale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing