We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating piece of history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edwin Fox Maritime Museum

Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Edwin Fox is a great example of NZ Maritime History, 161 years old this year and currently listed as the 9th oldest ship in the world, the oldest surviving merchant ship, last surviving convict ship that took convicts to Australia and last wooden NZ immigrant ship and was also used to transport troops to the Crimean war.Come step aboard, go into the hull of the ship and visit the dry dock to get a real feel of the size of the ship and indeed what voyages would of been like!Open everyday group bookings and guided tours by arrangement.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
bucks
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fascinating piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very interesting and well set out museum charting the history and preservation (not restoration) of this ship. Makes you realise what conditions early settlers endured. Very good value for money, not to be missed

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunnypBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    71
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well worth a visit and not expensive. It should be remembered that the remains of the ship is a preservation rather than a restoration project, but still a very interesting slice of history. There is a small museum attached and you must watch the video presentation, it lasts about 40 minutes but is a must do whilst there. We really enjoyed the experience and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddiefox, Manager at Edwin Fox Maritime Museum, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Only $10 per adult, $4 for kids, Under 5 's are free.... a bargain int his day and age where you can pay through the nose for some activities! We just want people to be able to experience the ship firstly, however we do need to try and cover our operating costs, we endeavour to keep our prices as low as possible for as long as possible.... I beleive thses prices have remained the same for a few years now, well worth it, I promise..... thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must see .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wow . This was worth 10$ . What a ripper . Nothing changed , which is rare . I feel sorry for people who traveled back in the old days . Go have a look .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lidia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddiefox, Manager at Edwin Fox Maritime Museum, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your response :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting and suprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We only decided to visit to fill in a bit of time before we departed Picton to return to Nelson. We found that being able to walk inside the "Edwin Fox" to be really interesting and quite fascinating from the information about life on board, the sleeping and eating accommodation and the space below the deck. But also very interesting was the timber in the boat construction - the size and how the boat was built. Also the walk down into the dry dock below the boat. Well worth the time to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddiefox, Manager at Edwin Fox Maritime Museum, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
The ship tells you the story of what the living conditions were like as an immigrant, convict or indeed soldier, they were definately made of tough stuff back then! obviously many died on on board including a man who had sustained just a broken leg...due to poor conditions, but babies amazingly were also born on board! thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very cool and something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

this is a small museum done in a very unique way! it is the passion of volunteers and history buffs, who have managed to save the hull of the edwin fox. it is not a replica, but the real thing! you get to walk in the ship itself and find out how hard life was for travellers. I was very impressed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmilieJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddiefox, Manager at Edwin Fox Maritime Museum, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you, it definately is different!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edwin Fox Maritime Museum also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Edwin Fox Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing