We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay in Picton”
Review of Kippilaw House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kippilaw House
Ranked #2 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay in Picton”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Margaret and Bill were very gracious hosts. Their home is exquisite and the food they prepared was amazing. My wife and I were there for a one night stop over on our honeymoon. We would highly recommend the Kippilaw House as a place to stay in the Marlborough region.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review Kippilaw House. Bill and I love hosting guests from where ever they come from. Every Guest has been a delight and interesting in their own ways. Hosting Honeymoon couples is special seeing folk committed to each other.
I hope New Zealand lived up to your expectations especially Picton which is a real Jewel in the crown of New Zealand Tourism.
We wish you well for now and always it was our pleasure meeting you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Bill and Margaret McHugh were wonderful hosts for our recent stay 2 night stay at Kippilaw House. Prior to our arrival, they gave us some great ideas for things to see during our drive from Nelson. We had a lovely, comfy room with a great view of the Picton Marina. Margaret and Bill took excellent care of us and served some delicious meals.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBFLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, Bill and I really enjoy what we do meeting guests looking after them while they are in our Home. Winter is upon us now and we are taking it much quieter. Happy and safe travels Kind wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A huge thank you to Bill and Margaret who made our 2 night stay truly wonderful. The bedroom, bathroom and private sitting room were all immaculately clean, welcoming and very comfortable. Margaret's home made packed lunch, breakfasts and a very special anniversary dinner were a delicious delight. Nothing was too much trouble and little touches like home-baked cakes in the room on our arrival was very welcome. Bill was extremely kind in collecting us from the boat after our long and tiring walk along the Queen Charlotte Track and in helping us with our 'considerable' luggage to the station. It was like staying with friends. Thank you again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Kippilaw House is the perfect place to relax, be pampered and made to feel welcomed, we love our guests to make our home feel like there own for their stays with us.
Thank you for your kind words our job is done when we receive such kind reviews of how you felt about visiting us and Picton. Kind wish and safe travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in february. Bill and Margaret are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them from booking trips to the sounds etc. The house is very comfortable and charming and the bedrooms stylish and spacious. The best thing though is the food, great tea on arrival, inventive and tasty breakfasts, and the dinner in the evening was excellent. Picton was good too - great walking and kayaking on the sounds. We must go back sometime!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we always like to make sure our guests relax feel at home and have the best time with us and in Picton. I expect you are safely returned to your home and looking forward to another holiday somewhere sometime. All the very best for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

stayed two nights here with Margaret and Bill, who made us feel very welcome in their lovely home. We very much enjoyed chatting with them and our fellow guests, and the wonderful smells which emanated from Margeret's kitchen. Our accommodation was spacious and very comfortable, and they made some good suggestions for things to see and do on our travels, including the seal colony on our route to Kaikoura.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Great you could manage to stop by and see the baby seals, such a great spot being up close and personal with the little ones. It was our pleasure having you in the house and delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kippilaw House.
Picton and the Marlborough Sounds are such a place of beauty we love sharing it with those that come to visit and have fun. Kind wish and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place is top quality and great value. You feel like you're staying with friends - friends who have a lovely home and spoil you rotten. It's a great place with loads of character. Margaret's cooking is exceptional. Don't look any further than Kippilaw House. Thanks Margaret and Bill.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing Kippilaw House for your three night stay on Picton. Your kind words are appreciated we love what we do, we love the opportunity of meeting special people sharing with them the joy of this exceptional paradise Marlborough Sounds. Bill and I wish you all the best with your futures and hope your wishes and aspirations come true. Safe travels always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Kippilaw House was by far the best lodge we visited: a beautifully decorated home, full of victorian antiques and collectibles. Our bedroom was elegant, bright, spacious and perfectly appointed (down to the the silver tea service). The black and white victorian bathroom was charming, as was the en-suite library which was hard to leave. Our friends' room had itsown fruit garden! Hospitality was warm and friendly; Margaret and Bill were very welcoming hosts, we enjoyed their stories... The food was unreal: Margaret is a gifted (professional) chef and her New Zealand (and vegan) specialties were unbeatable. We are really lucky to have come across Kippilaw House, with all the choice there is, I really don't think we could have done better!
Cigale and Doron

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cigale o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Greetings from Picton New Zealand thank you so much for your kind words, we were delighted to have you all at Kippilaw House as our guests. I was particularly pleased you enjoyed my date scones and other foods I prepared for you.

Making different foods for different people and cultures is a lovely challenge. Thank you for stopping by at Kippilaw House meeting the four of you was our pleasure.

Please keep in touch I would love to share food recipes from both our countries. I expect you are home safely after your travels happy days to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
1.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
0.7 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#3 of 16 in Picton
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kippilaw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kippilaw House

Property: Kippilaw House
Address: 98 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kippilaw House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel relaxed, warm and comfortable at Kippilaw House our guests often mention that they have walked in as guests and left us as friends. We are just a few minutes stroll to the waters edge of the Marlborough Sounds, cafes and various activities. Margaret is a professional chef/caterer of many years standing and loves sharing her recipes and experience in food. Bill is excellent passing on knowledge of the region things to do and see. Originally from the borders of Scotland he spent all his school holidays at Kippilaw Estate where his grandfather was the groom. We also operate a very well stocked deli Trailer at the Marlborough Farmers Market in Blenheim on Sundays where guests are most welcome to enjoy their breakfasts if staying Saturday night with us. We pride ourselves on good southern hospitality and place equal importance on the breakfast and the comfortable beds. Our point of difference is providing freshly sourced food with menus changing daily. Complementary afternoon tea is served at 3pm if you have not arrived this is left covered in your room. We make tasty interesting packed breakfasts for early travellers to take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kippilaw House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing