We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place if you're on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tombstone Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is good for backpackers because there are a few freebies. The common area is a bit rundown and its a bit of a walk from town if you have groceries. Not all the rooms have views as they advertise. Family rooms are pretty squashed. Nice cheese scones for breakfast and free internet. Lynn the owner is friendly. The high ratings this place compared to elsewhere gets makes me think good accommodation must be scarce in Picton.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 336 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

A very nice, clean and cozy place. The owner is nice and warm and gives you a feeling like you are at home. In the mornings she bakes scones for the people who stay at the hostel. The rooms are tiny but since they were very clean and we stayed most of the time in the dining area it was not a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galia718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Left nz a little while ago and had stayed in some great places, however this is the only one worth writing about. The owners are amazing they become your new parents makings sure that your okay and you have something to do.

The place has its quirks my favourite of which is the pool table which curves the ball for you taking any element of skill out the game

On a more important note the place is exceptional clean with more than enough showers which are at the right height unlike the hobbit showers in the rest of NZ. There's a good DVD collection and the wifi is the best I found that was free. The spa pool is really good as well

The location is perfect for the ferry and 2 mins for the supermarket. You couldn't ask for more.

The one warning is that you will want to stay longer than you first think

Lynn will look out for you

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackajwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had only one night at Tombstone, but it's a great hostel. Solo female and chose the double with ensuite in new block, which had a balcony, towels, fab new shower and whacky black painting to go with their tombstone theme.
The owner was just charming and showed me all around the hostel, so I could get my bearings, and then to my room. I felt that I knew everything I needed to straight away.Free breakfast, tea, coffee, wi fi and so much more.
A little away from the centre, but has parking (a bonus in Picton) and is well equipped, so fine to stay in for the night.
I actually ate in, but drove to Seamus's, the Irish pub in town, for half a delicious Guinness.
Picton was a bit soulless for me but, if you are there for the ferry, and want a great backpackers, stay in the totally professionally run Tombstone.

Room Tip: The new block has hotel quality rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seashellseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

During our two night stay we were extraordinarily pleased with the high comfort and exceptional tidy and clean facilities.

The hostel also has a spa and fitness training facilities. The kitchen offers everything you need for proper cooking (however a great fish & chips shop is just a five minute walk).

We had free WiFi and a pick up from the ferry.

A lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Can not stress enough- this is a perfect backpackers and you should not hesitate before booking- and that, you must do as its so popular and often fully booked.

It had all you could want; free bfast (cereals, toasts, fresh scones, tea and coffee), free wif and communal computer, towels, outdoor spa pool, pool table, tv, quiet reading room, clean kitchen facilities and ensuite, clean rooms of varying sizes. The price is very cheap for what all that is included. Service is top notch too and they provide a transport service to/from the ferry etc though the hostel is very centrally located anyway.

If only all hostels were this good!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Clean bathrooms and well-equipped kitchen, cosy dining area, very nice and helpful staff,
there is only one hostel in a 1000 being that good!

Extras, such as free wifi and free breakfast were great- the hot spa pool was a nice way to relax in the evening.

The door made me laugh everytime I entered it and the hosts made you feel like being part of the family,
looking forward to coming back there soon!

Stayed there for nearly 3 months as I was working in Picton!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herrderringe93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 27 in Picton
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aldan Lodge Motel
Aldan Lodge Motel
#7 of 16 in Picton
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range: $21 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing