We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tombstone Backpackers
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Lynne picked me up at the bus stop, drove to the centre in the morning so I could take part in a walking tour and drove me to the ferry when I was leaving. She was so friendly and it was really appreciated!
The hostel was clean, toilets and showers excellant condition. It is not a party hostel, but I liked that. Big kitchen, free continental breakfast. Great atmosphere, would go back if ever in Picton again. The date is wrong, I was here in Jan 2009, but it doesn't seem to have lost its charm.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 337 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

Check out the comments in the Lonely Planet. This place is, as they write: "one of the best hostels we've ever seen." Not much to add to that :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_sweet_as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Really nice place, The room was quiet, kitchen was very nice, there is a pool table. The room cost includes breakfast (very unusual in New Zealand for this budget price) which as well as toast/cereal included hot homemade cheese scones. The owners were helpful in dropping me in to town on one day when I was unable to walk. From reviews I wasn't sure whether it was worth staying in Picton. In fact Picton was lovely, and we were very happy to stay here 3 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KunmingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We chose this hostel because of it's proximity to the ferry terminal and it was perfect. We had our own car, which we left there (along with our extra luggage) when we hiked the QCT. Lynne drove us down to the water-taxi on the day of our hike and she or Gordon are available to drive people pretty much whenever they need a lift. We ended up staying there the night before the QCT and the night we returned and because we liked it so much, we booked it again for our last night on the S Island. It has a communal kitchen and breakfast is included with the room. There is a laundry facility available and lots of areas to sit around and read, watch tv, play pool, go on the internet or use the fitness equipment. There is even a hot tub. We stayed in a double room the first night and then opted for the apartment the other two. It was very quiet, despite being a busy place and being a short walk from town (maybe 10 mins) it is in an ideal location. Great hosts and clean, spacious rooms. Couldn't ask for better, and the price was great too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Gordon really took good care of us. We showed up without a reservation, and he squeezed us into one of the nicest places we stayed in NZ. Fully equiped kitchen, great hot tub, good breakfast (included), nice laundry, and clean clean clean. Gordon gave us great advice about where to go in town and even brought up our bags when Endeavor Express delivered them after we had checked in. Just a great experience

Room Tip: Everything we saw was nice, but the apartment is Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AltaTraveler800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We loved our stay at Tombstone. We stayed in the only apartment for $110 per night. It had a full kitchen, separate bedroom, a somewhat small bathroom and had a lovely view over Picton. Everything looked new, as if it had been remodeled recently. I was a bit worried about street noise, and also the fact that the apartment was by the hot tub and some outdoor lounge seating, but we had no noise from other hostel dwellers and the street noise was minimal. The hot tub felt fabulous after a long day of hiking and kayaking the Queen Charlotte track. The kitchen was fully equipped and as an extra bonus, the hostel has two resident cats. The owner, Lynn, was also friendly and informative; she recommended wineries with scenic views and excellent lunches, and also recommended a company that has kayak/hike full-day trips along the Queen Charlotte track. She even called to make our reservation for lunch at one of the wineries (necessary on a weekend, we soon found out). All of her recommendations were great, we loved the wineries she suggested. I accidentally broke on of the glasses in our apt and offered to pay for it but she let it slide. This was the nicest room of any hostel that we stayed at, I can't recommend it enough!The hot

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellevala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We booked our stay through their website but when we tried to call them they didn’t answer the phone for 3 or 4 hours. Luckily we didn’t need their free ferry pick-up as they are very close to the Bluebridge ferry terminal. The hostel is very clean and modern. The website details the prices but the small print mentions that the price is only for BBH members and non-members pay 3 dollars more a night.

They upgraded us to a private room instead of a dorm as my boyfriend was sick. The room was more like a hotel, very nice beds and bathroom. The communal kitchen is clean but small with only space for one or two people to prepare food.

Breakfast is included but we didn’t have it as we had enough of cereals and bread.
It is a cosy hostel with a nice atmosphere but the common areas don’t seem big enough for the amount of people there. The internet is 6 dollars an hour which seemed more expensive than other hostels we’ve been to in New Zealand.
We used the free drop-off service to the Inter-Islander ferry terminal the next day which was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#2 of 27 in Picton
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantis Backpackers
Atlantis Backpackers
#13 of 27 in Picton
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range: $39 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing