We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place w wonderful hosts.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 23 Picton B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place w wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

If you get a chance to walk into the main township from Sounds Vista - do so. It's a really nice chance to see and enjoy the area closely.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagittorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
56
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

The photos of this B&B do not do justice. Bedroom and adjoining bathroom were very roomy and clean. Hosts were great and very accomodating. Will be recommending to our other Canadian friends. A great place to stay the night before leaving the beautiful South Island.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We were welcomed very warmly by our hosts Nikki and Brent. The room was beautiful - very comfortable and warm with a lovely ensuite bathroom. The location was just a couple of minutes drive from the centre of Picton. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast and chat with our hosts before checking out! Highly recommended to anyone wanting to stay in Picton!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

We used Sounds Vista B&B as our before and after accommodation to walk the Queen Charlotte track. Brent provided pick up from the ferry and drop-off to the train as well as
lifts to the town centre. Delicious cooked/continental breakfast to fit with our timing.
Big happy wave when we passed in the nearby train. Provided storage of our ports for the week of the trek. Left feeling like I had stayed with best friends. Wow ! Photos on the web site will amply show the beauty of the site and the quality of the rooms. Family room is budget accom which is roomy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yep60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Very nice, quite new house--well decorated, with helpful hosts. Walkable from town, but when it was time for the ferry our hostess kindly dropped us off.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonikaOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

We took the cheapest (by far) of the rooms available, which was a converted garage. Drawbacks were we had to leave the room to get water or use the (exclusively ours) bathroom, but we survived!
Hosts were lovely though, and the place was immaculate. Breakfast was informal and really enjoyable, it was nice chatting to the hosts and other guests.
We'd not hesitate to stay there again, but we'd fork out for one of the more expensive rooms next time. I'm not entirely sure of the B&B protocols, but we felt welcome beyond the boundaries of our room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Warm welcome, Excellent facilities, Great hosts. Made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourists2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.9 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
15.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.9 mi away
Escape to Picton
Escape to Picton
#3 of 23 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast
Address: 58 Dorset Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUNDS VISTA B&B has 2 well appointed luxury bedrooms - both with Queen size beds & spacious en suite bathrooms with amazing heated tile floor - feeling is believing - both with wonderful sea views. Also available a downstairs family room that sleeps 4 comfortable - 1 double bed & 1 king single bed & a sofa bed.This room has a detached bathroom upstairs. So not ideal if getting up and down stairs is a problem. All rooms with free Wi-Fi. SOUNDS VISTA B&B is located in a private setting & only 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive into the centre of Picton township where you will find a variety of shops, cafes & restaurants as well as the waterfront, where the many boats that cruise the Marlborough Sounds depart from. We can book your wine tour from our B&B, or go mountain biking on the Queen Charlotte track. SOUNDS VISTA B&B has stunning views of the harbour where you can watch the ferries go in and out while soaking up the view from our deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing