We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, luxury-style B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful home and B&B set-up Nikki and Brent (?) have here. We only stayed one night before our ferry the next day but this was a comfortable, relaxing base from which to explore Marlborough. We shy away from B&B's because we prefer eating/living in private and weren't aware this was B&B when I booked through an overseas agent on the phone. Nikki was obliging when my husband asked if we could take breakfast into our room, but it turned out we may have been the only guests so that suited us and we had the shared kitchen to ourselves, where Nikki let me cook the eggs I brought.
Only downside is the small bathroom for the family room is down the hall/up a few stairs on the deliciously soft carpet, but there's a robe provided or you may feel you need to dress before making the short trip to the toilet in public (during the night/morning) if modest like us. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatapihiLocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed meeting you both. I'm not sure if you were aware at time of booking your accommodation that we also have available 2 luxurious en-suite rooms. Both with tiled heated floor & heated towel rail. Our intention for the family room you booked is to add a en- suite in the future. Thanks again for staying with us. Regards. Nikki & Brent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

My daughters and I stayed at this B&B while passing through on a trip around the south island. The couple running the B&B were incredibly warm, almost bringing us into their family. The rooms were very nice as was the breakfast the next morning. If we were passing through again, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nps212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for your review . Glad you found the family room to your liking. It was lovely getting to know you all at breakfast. Hope that you enjoyed the boat ride in the Sounds that we booked for you. All the best. Fond regards Nikki & Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Lovely B&B in the beautiful Picton. I only stayed here for one night, but would happily return in the future. The hosts were wonderfully hospitable and the room very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend Sounds Vista to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you Verona for your review. We enjoyed our chat over breakfast. Hope all went well with your study.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My daughter and I arrived on the late ferry from Wellington and stayed overnight before driving to Christchurch. Nikki kindly waited up for us when our ferry was delayed by fog in Wellington harbour. We had a comfortable stay in the spacious family room, everything was immaculately clean and the shower was very good! We were treated to a delicious breakfast before heading on our way south. We can recommend Sounds Vista B&B as an excellent place to stay in Picton, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyjudyjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Hi Judy, Thanks for your review. I hope Lizzie is all settled in Christchurch and that the trip to Dunedin went well. It was lovely chatting with you at breakfast. Food always tastes better with good company. Regards Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at Brent and nikki's wonderful B&B. nothing was too much trouble for Nikki during our stay. We stayed in room 1 which was superb in every way. Lovely big comfy bed, walk in wardrobe to the side and the most amazing bathroom with a fab walk in shower. Breakfast was very well presented with plenty of choice, even had the pleasure of Nikki sitting down sharing breakfast with us. Our only disappointment was we didn't stay longer !!! But hey that was our fault !! Do stay here if you get the chance, you will not be disappointed. Many thanks Nikki for a wonderful stay. Terry & jo

Room Tip: Go for room 1. Superb bathroom !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joellis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you Terry & Jo for the great review. I really enjoyed your company, I hope the rest of your holiday went well. Cheers Nikki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had three nights at the Sounds Vista B&B and it was a highlight of our three weeks in NZ. Brent kindly picked us up from the ferry and within minutes we were in a really comfortable room with a great view down to the water. Brent and Nikki's hospitality is fantastic - they made sure everything we needed was there, and more. The bedroom was really comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast was fantastic, plenty to choose from and lots of it. We would thoroughly recommend staying here. As for the location, it's only a short walk into town and you get such a good view as a result.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mispra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thanks Michael & Bridget for taking the time to write a review. It was great meeting you guys, and we trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hopefully you found a good venue for your upcoming wedding. Cheers Brent & Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

An immaculate B & B with really spacious rooms and equally spacious bathrooms. Superbly comfortable beds and a good breakfast. It's a bit of a walk from the town centre, but the host offers a very good free taxi service if you can't face the hill. Great views too. We were a little concerned about the nearby railway line, but there was no appreciable noise from passing trains.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentfromPicton, Owner at Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here in Picton and yes the train isn't too much of a problem in the two guest rooms, they are very well insulated.
All the best, Brent & Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
3.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
1.4 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#3 of 24 in Picton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Parklands Marina Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast

Address: 58 Dorset Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: $120 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUNDS VISTA B&B has 3 well appointed luxury bedrooms - two with Queen size beds & spacious en suite bathrooms with amazing heated tile floor - feeling is believing - both with wonderful sea views. Room 3 has Twin beds OR Super King ( singles beds joined together), en suite with heated floor, separate tiled shower, separate sunken bath.This room has a rural view of our sheep, Charlie and Missy. All rooms have free Wi-Fi, Tea/Coffee making facilities,TV, DVD player. SOUNDS VISTA B&B is located in a private setting & only 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive into the centre of Picton township where you will find a variety of shops, cafes & restaurants as well as the waterfront, where the many boats that cruise the Marlborough Sounds depart from. We can book your wine tour from our B&B, or go mountain biking on the Queen Charlotte track. SOUNDS VISTA B&B has stunning views of the harbour where you can watch the ferries go in and out while soaking up the view from our deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sounds Vista Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing