We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tall, Dark and Handsome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
“Tall, Dark and Handsome.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

First things first; Bruce is tall, dark, delusional and devilishly handsome, Always has a smile on his face and is very helpful with information about Picton and the sounds. We received an upgrade which was very much appreciated after sleeping in a tent in the campsite.
We were given a very warm welcome after he realized i was scottish and were sold on the place after just one night. The homemade bread is excellent and we have enjoyed numerous bbq's in only a couple of weeks. There is lots of things to keep you entertained during the day and also some terrible singing most evenings (Jon) ;)
We had the pleasure of entertaining the Swedish Netball team whilst we were here and they have promised they will be back!!
I would recommend this place to people of all ages. Will definitely come back for a few more nights at some point.

P.s Bruce is very tall and very handsome.

Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Double rooms (red & blue) recommend !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Steve_Aila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
80
117
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

It was a great stay there... i love this accomodation. And when i have time i will come back...
The rooms are absolutely clean. The staff friendly and helpful when you need anything. Bruce is specially but awesome as well :D. Marvin is a mid-aged handsome guy ;D... Be careful, this place is addictive...!!!! You may end up staying longer than expected!!! <3

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Manuela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Jugglers Rest is one of the best hostels I have stayed in during my time in New Zealand. The rooms are warm, clean and comfortable and little touches (like freshly made bread and jam for breakfast and cute knitted socks to wear around the house) really make for a first rate stay. Bruce and Nikki are friendly and happy to help with anything you need. Highly recommended :0)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Jugglers Rest is my absolutely favourite hostel I have ever been to in New Zealand!

- super clean
- the whole house is arranged so nicely that you feel like home as soon as you enter the hostel, including comfortable beds and nice chill out areas in and outside the hostel
- they even grow their own herbs and offer you fresh fruits, veggies, selfmade bread and jam, a real luxury in Nz!

The best thing about Jugglers Rest is definitely the owners! Nikki is always really committed to making the hostel a home to backpackers and teaches you how to juggle if you are interested. Bruce is a really tall, friendly and cool guy who gives you the best tips about activities in the Picton area.

My favourite hostel in Nz, super good location, the best owners and the most friendly and welcoming atmosphere ever! I will defenitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Juggler's Rest is a home away from home. We only stayed for one night but we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It is definitely more than just a place with a bed. Warm, friendly hosts who go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. They have worked hard to provide the 'extras' that are so welcome to travelers- organic produce from the garden, hammocks and lounge suits inside and out, and a lovely selection of plants and decorations that add a creative touch. The hostel was very clean and tidy.The atmosphere is friendly and chilled out. The highlight for us was a wonderful fire dancing show put on by the hostess, Nicki, which was just awesome! Highly recommend Juggler's Rest to anyone who wants to rest up and meet some really lovely people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer ! Cosy, clean, warm and comfortable hostel with a good atmosphere. The owners are really nice too. Enjoy the fresh bread and home made jams for the breakfast !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delph64100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed in one of the little cabins, and it was one of the nicest places we stayed - very natural, the bed was very comfy, and the shower was great.
We got there as some fire jugglers started practicing, which was pretty magical.
Bruce was a fount of knowledge, whilst being very friendly and warm - he sorted us a tour to Lochmara, which was a great day out.
The homemade james for breakfast were super!
Wish we could have stayed for longer

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1moreholidayplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.6 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 27 in Picton
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.6 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Property: Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including unlimited wi-fi, organic fruit & veggie garden, breakfast - homemade bread & jam available, real log fire, heaters & electric blankets, quality book exchange & games, bikes, musical instruments & juggling toys, workshops in poi, juggling & hula hoop spinning, slackline, unicycle & spinning staffs to use, gas barbeque & picnic table, Information/advice/bookings on local activities, free tea, coffee, herbs & spices AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! Situated in a quiet residential area, far enough to avoid the noise of the port and trains, but close enough to easily access all pretty little Picton has to offer by foot, our location gives you the best of both worlds. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. There are walking tracks right outside the door in the Esson Valley, and we can help arrange trips out into the beautiful Marlborough Sounds and Marlborough's famous award winning vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing