We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, homely, colourful, friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Wonderful, homely, colourful, friendly!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a beautiful place! Such friendly service! Homely shared living room and cosy bedrooms. Feels like you're in paradise nestled into the lush green valley. Exciting FREE fire and circus shows. excellent facilities that are kept immaculate. Yummy warm fire place. This place is vibrant and buzzing with activity but still remains a welcoming, relaxing place to be. I recommend this 100%!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
81
122
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

One of the most beautiful spaces I've had the pleasure of spending time in. Beautiful owner and amazing friendly knowledgeable managers who are always there to help. I look forward to staying there on every trip I have through Picton. This place breeds creativity and activity while still being homely, such a great combination.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keir345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's such a beautiful and homely atmosphere... Plenty of space to play & spin toys, poi, staff, hoop, juggle, slack-line, or just do yoga out on the spacious stone yard. Or have elderflower cordial out on the beautiful wooden deck, surrounded in greenery, vines and flowers... Cozy and clean rooms with fabulous crocheted socks guaranteed... Delicious free-range eggs and home-made jams on freshly baked bread every morning for just a tiny cost... Juggler's Rest is just a few meters away from a river and a nice swimming hole, and bushes to walk all around... This fantastic place with fantastic hosts, Nikki and Bruce, is not to be missed on your Marlborough journeys...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Myself an my fiancé were initially going to stay here for one day but thanks to our superb hosts of Bruce and Nikki, we stayed for three. Even upon arrival, Bruce is one of the kindest and most hilarious guys we've come across in NZ, and even upgraded us straight away for no additional cost! Legend! He also told us about a few discounts including the trip to beautiful Lochmara Bay, so had it not been for his insight, we would not have known about it. He's also got a cracking kilt!!

Very homely feel to it all. There's wonders in every corner of the hostel from the comfy couches down to the juggling balls if you want to have a go! No TV, but you don't come to South Island to watch soaps!

Free bike and kayak use available as well as stunning homemade bread and jam as an additional cost worth every penny on top of complimentary cups of tea / coffee.

We cannot say enough good words about this hostel. You have to experience it to believe how good this really is! Beats any hotel I've stayed in too!

On our way back north, we WILL be back!! Thank you so much Brice and Nikki, you deserve your award (recently voted best hostel in NZ 2013 I think it was, top 10% in the WORLD!! Wow!!)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Metallimaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

As a performer, I stay at Jugglers Rest every opportunity I get. It's one of the most unique and beautiful places to stay that I have ever had the pleasure of finding. The atmosphere is relaxed and creative, and I feel like this is my home away from home. The food is also delicious, and I find the environment perfect for hosting workshops. Nikki is also one of the warmest, most inviting and lovely people I have ever met. She obviously cares a lot about creating something truly beautiful and that love really shines through.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Such a beautiful place! We've travelled all around the South Island, have been in many Hostels, but nothing compares to Jugglers Rest. It fells like home from the first moment, a great atmosphere, a wonderful warm feeling and Nikki... we loved you from the start! It was so nice to meet you and Bruce, thanks for your help and being such a great person!
...ah, and the breakfast, the homemade bread and jams, the grounded coffee... yummy!! don't need to tell more about it :) kisses & hugs, Nuri & Johannes

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oeznur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Such a warm friendly place- Nikki has created a welcoming and unique space, which is full of lovely touches including knitted slippers, hammocks on the deck, homemade bread and preserves. The building and rooms themselves are beautiful and spacious, but even better than that is sense of coming 'home'- really looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.6 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.6 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Property: Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including unlimited wi-fi, organic fruit & veggie garden, breakfast - homemade bread & jam available, real log fire, heaters & electric blankets, quality book exchange & games, bikes, musical instruments & juggling toys, workshops in poi, juggling & hula hoop spinning, slackline, unicycle & spinning staffs to use, gas barbeque & picnic table, Information/advice/bookings on local activities, free tea, coffee, herbs & spices AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! Situated in a quiet residential area, far enough to avoid the noise of the port and trains, but close enough to easily access all pretty little Picton has to offer by foot, our location gives you the best of both worlds. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. There are walking tracks right outside the door in the Esson Valley, and we can help arrange trips out into the beautiful Marlborough Sounds and Marlborough's famous award winning vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing