We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“One of my favourite”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I first went there on new year's eve and a few wonderful nights here: Juggling, fireshows, warm and personal welcome! nice breakfast, nice people and quiet place!
I travelled around new zealand since 4 months and this place is such one of my favorite that i went back there for more few days!
Some days that all backpackers are good in Picton, but this one is the best!

Room Tip: large share rooms without bunks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germinnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
81
122
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for three nights and it is the best I've experienced in NZ. Perfect for solo travellers as it's small and friendly. Very homely inside and a great deck with hammock and occasional evening fire shows. The owner Nikki is very welcoming too. wish there were more like this.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenbrum86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at Jugglers rest in February this year. When we arrived, Nikki, the host spent time chatting to us before showing us around the hostel and explaining how to get into town (8minute walk). There were lots of local information available in the from of organised folders done by Nikki herself. In the kitchen there were lots of herbs and condiments free to use which helps when you are travelling and only have the minimum with you. There was breakfast available on the morning which consists of homemade bread and homemade ams with fruit for $4. The juggling equipment around the place was free to use and Nikki French puts on fire shows for her guests, overall an gem of a hostel to stay in. Would recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan27317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What shall I choose to review? The beautiful house and gardens? The lovely comfortable rooms, the hand knitted slippers for each guest to wear during their stay? The enthusiastic friendly welcome from Nikki?
Or how about the home made bread and preserves for breakfast with proper coffee, a bargain $4? Or the relaxed friendly chat round the big kitchen table?
Some hostels are places you want to stay for longer and savour every experience.
For me the evening of Fire Poi and Fire Hula was exceptional - a really spectacular performance and not at all what I was excepting from my host!
So at Jugglers Rest, expect the unexpected and enjoy every moment!

Room Tip: Try the scented candlelit indoor bath or the more adventurous outdoor fire fuelled bath under the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked for 2 days and ended up there for 3. Would have stayed even longer if we didn't have an itinery to follow. Place seems to run on coffee which means dazed looking staff at the crack of dawn blindly stumbling to the coffee percolator, 20 minutes later, expect great service for the rest of the day!!! If you are having the cheap breakfast, try and book the night before as on the day might be too late. Come 7.30 am expect to drift awake to the smell of fresh bread, hmmmm, better than any incense sticks. We want to clone this place and put them all over the world so we always have somewhere fantastic to stay.

Room Tip: Apparently the cabins are very quiet as they are not connected to the lounge / kitchen like many of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday-pigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Most people stop in Picton simply to get on or off the ferry. However, you need to rearrange your plans to stay here at LEAST one night. I stayed here for two nights and walked "The Snout" down to the sounds during the day. Now as for the hostel, it has a chill vibe and is a great place to just relax. First, and most importantly in my opinion, the hostel is incredibly clean. The showers actually have pressure and are not that weak trickle found in many hostels. The staff are especially friendly and informative. The beds are very comfy (no bunks!) and the rooms are spacious. They have bikes you can take out for FREE (a word one does not use often in New Zealand). And last, but not least, they have tons of juggling toys for you to play with, or watch others play with!!! Just make sure to book ahead because the hostel does not have too many beds. After you leave, I'm pretty certain that you will be glad you decided to stop in Picton for a few days. Juggler's Rest is without a doubt one of the best!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Court_K492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reporoa, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

AWESOME PLACE, will defiantly have to make a trip back down south just to go back and see the crew and stay another week, everyone was really friendly and helpful, from the freshly baked bread and homemade jams all the way to the loan of couple fishing rods (thanks Gregory) and the fire show each night was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
10.6 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
5.4 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Property: Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including unlimited wi-fi, organic fruit & veggie garden, breakfast - homemade bread & jam available, real log fire, heaters & electric blankets, quality book exchange & games, bikes, musical instruments & juggling toys, workshops in poi, juggling & hula hoop spinning, slackline, unicycle & spinning staffs to use, gas barbeque & picnic table, Information/advice/bookings on local activities, free tea, coffee, herbs & spices AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! Situated in a quiet residential area, far enough to avoid the noise of the port and trains, but close enough to easily access all pretty little Picton has to offer by foot, our location gives you the best of both worlds. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. There are walking tracks right outside the door in the Esson Valley, and we can help arrange trips out into the beautiful Marlborough Sounds and Marlborough's famous award winning vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing