We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hostel would be one of my favorites in NZ. Small friendly hostel with lots of charm. Rooms were great as were the communal areas. Even though it was full when my 12 year old and I stayed it was quiet.
Loved the guys practicing their street performance in the front yard while dodging the cat who owns the place.
Would definitely recommend even for those who have never experienced a hostel before.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
81
122
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ziqim, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Juggler's is everything we expect from a backpackers lodge: clean, friendly, homey, small and informative.

The place is small (Less than 20 beds, to my estimation) so it's not too crowded and it's quiet at nights even for rooms near the shared spaces.

The place offers exquisite breakfast - freshly baked bread, home-made jams, butter and fresh coffee for the ridiculously low price of $4. Too bad we had some eggs with us - the place sells free range eggs for $0.5 each. The jam (local, organic) is also for sale.

The kitchen is large and well-equipped.

We took a double room with shared bathrooms. We didn't expect much, but the bathrooms were extra-clean, large, and didn't feel any different from private rooms we had elsewhere.

The staff is real information bonanza - they're friendly, experienced, informative and nice. They helped us a lot with planning nearby treks (Abel Tasman and Queen Charlotte).

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. One the best lodges we've ever been to.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to take the rooms with the shared bathrooms - they are sterile-clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamMatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We landed in this cosy place after a very tough trip in the ferry.
We decided to rest for some days and this was the right place!
Nice room, with a warm bed, wool socks provided, nice living room and a well provided kitchen to cook!
Atmosphere is really friendly and staff is really helpful and nice.
You really feel like home! Plus you can try to juggle and it's really funny!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexia_alessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Slept only 2 nights here, but we loved every moment of it. The hosts (Nikki an Bruce) were very friendly, and welcoming and a matter-of-course. Unlike other backpackers, the undisturbed peace and calm is the main character of this place. As the owners live there as well, the kitchen is equipped accordingly, even home made bread and jam are available in the morning, and if you are lucky, you can enjoy a juggler show, when it is getting dark.

We will definitely stay here, when we visit Picton again. One of the best backpacker in the South Island.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Home baked bread & jams for breakfast, late night trip into the hills to see glow worms, spotless, exceptionally friendly, welcome advice on what to do and see.. Has a couple of family rooms. The building is full of character - one of Picton's first. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks Nicky & Co.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A lovely quaint and friendly old house run by welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. Evening glow worm tours and juggling shows, and free use of the herb garden were nice touches; as was the home made bread and home made jams for breakfast. And also the cheapest place to stay for 3 of us that we could find, so very impressed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, West Coast, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place really is a must if you care about the environment in which you stay. A mid night walk into the bush to see glow worms and spin fire was an unique experience. I can't wait to go back next time. Thanks to the host for making this possible.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#10 of 26 in Picton
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Property: Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including unlimited wi-fi, organic fruit & veggie garden, breakfast - homemade bread & jam available, real log fire, heaters & electric blankets, quality book exchange & games, bikes, musical instruments & juggling toys, workshops in poi, juggling & hula hoop spinning, slackline, unicycle & spinning staffs to use, gas barbeque & picnic table, Information/advice/bookings on local activities, free tea, coffee, herbs & spices AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! Situated in a quiet residential area, far enough to avoid the noise of the port and trains, but close enough to easily access all pretty little Picton has to offer by foot, our location gives you the best of both worlds. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. There are walking tracks right outside the door in the Esson Valley, and we can help arrange trips out into the beautiful Marlborough Sounds and Marlborough's famous award winning vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing