We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Picton
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Interislander
from $2,565.51
More Info
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
77
36
8
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
36
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south island great ferry rough seas and vice versa foot passengers private lounge holiday period sea conditions ferry crossing loading and unloading inter islander car hire smooth ride morning ferry cook strait friendly and helpful staff mini cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely crossing. Everything on time, easy check in and disembark. Very clean ship, good food and drink provided and very helpful, pleasant and efficient staff. Throw in the scenery as a bonus and it rates as one of the best ferry crossings there is.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We completed this return journey in some mixed weather conditions and good sea conditions and it was beautiful and relaxing. We left from Wellington on a rainy day and returned from Picton in a very sunny day. We were a mixed aged group of people and we all found something onboard to make the journey good. The children's play area was nice, clean and helped make the journey for children more exciting. The childrens area on deck 2 consisted of the 2 cinemas (showing Frozen 2 and Ford vs Ferrari), a soft play area, a coffee shop and USB power sockets for devices. Deck 7 have a viewing area that went around the sides and back of the boat which was great. The only downside to the viewing area on deck 7 is that it is the outside smoking area. Deck 7 also includes a lovely eatery selling coffee, cakes and sandwiches and some very comfortable seating. Deck 8 is where we spent most of our time as the food/restaurant was a buffet style which meant that we could all find something we would eat. It also has sports bar that which was showing a variety of sports and served a wider range of alcohol. The drink selection on board was good and represented NZ, I am not sure they had the best wine selections (especially considering the sail between some good wine regions) but it was OK. Deck 10 is not the deck to visit for comfort but you should certainly go for stunning views and to take incredible pictures. Overall the sailing is 3.5hrs to relax and have some time to yourself while seeing some amazing views of NZ.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank familyoffiveonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sailed from Picton to Wellington on the Interislander.
Wonderful facilities onboard. Helpful and friendly staff. Easy check-in. Plenty of seating of different types in different areas. Lounge chair seating in the family area makes it easy for young ones to play nearby, a fabulous magician show, huge playground on level 2, movie theatre at a small additional cost, comfy aeroplane style recliner seats if you want to nap, dining style tables and chairs, bar area seating, charging stations, gift shop with very reasonable prices if you want to pick up a souvenir, gift, chocolate or puzzle book, excellent variety of food in a number of different areas, small outside viewing and seating deck.
The only very minor negative for me was surprise at walking onboard across the deck but of course that was only because the ferry is also a vehicle transporter. Easily done and there are staff to assist if you need any help.
We were also blessed with fabulous weather so the views were great.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very enjoyable 3.5 hour transit from Wellington to Picton. Plenty of food and drink options with comfortable seating areas. Good wi-fi connection, great crew, and a beautiful view.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Nameless666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great ferry with good food and lovely staff on our return journey we upgraded to premium which was well worth it great food and friendly staff.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank brocqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews